• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Forum - View topic
NEWS: Central Park Media and Kaneva.com Launch Otaku Invitational Tournament

Note: this is the discussion thread for this article

Anime News Network Forum Index -> Site-related -> Talkback
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dokool

PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 5:50 pm Reply with quote
"A total of 20 teams are being invited to participate."

Quite dissapointing - as an AMV editor I'd love a crack at this. Who are these "teams", and what are the criteria for invitation?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
CochraneO

PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 8:22 pm Reply with quote
Well, Central Park Media talking about a new release at all is a bit of good news. I hope that means they've turned the corner with their business woes.

Then again, the cynical might be amused that they're basically running a contest to get someone to create a trailer for them; it's as if they don't have any employees left who can do the job after their massive layoffs from a while back...

But that's just a mean way of thinking. Any indication that CPM's still alive and kicking is certainly encouraging.
tripperdan99

PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 9:25 pm Reply with quote
It'll be interesting on how they determine the selected 20. Do they accept input from any "team" (and what determines a team) and then they decide the 20?
hikaru004

PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 10:58 pm Reply with quote
But is the prize worth it? The DVDs loose value over time. Is the chroma-cel actually a valuable collectible? Same goes for the model kit. Is it really worth anything?

I think that money is alot easier to deal with as a prize. This prize will have to be split up between the members of the team after all.
Area88