• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Forum - View topic
ANN API new developer questions :)

Anime News Network Forum Index -> Site-related -> Bugs & Technical Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
FFGenerations

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 8:58 pm Reply with quote
Hey guys, I'm a university student doing a software engineering final project. I'm interested in making a website application that permits user to search an anime database (such as ANN or MAL) and retrieve anime cover images (and anime info) as a response.

I'm a newbie to programming so I've been struggling a bit to get started FYI.

Right now I'm looking into what anime databases/APIs are available to public use and just having a look at ANN in order to compare it with MAL and AniDB.

Would anyone be able to please comment on your API for me or perhaps direct me to documentation page? I'm interested to know things like...

1) what programming language can I use or is recommended to use with your API? For instance, AniDB has a UDP API (although I don't know what that means yet!) and MAL Atarashii formats into JSON instead of XML but only supports PHP

2) what are the limitations or advantages of your API or ANN as a web service? for instance, a) are there any limitations to your API or functionality I might miss? b) I will have to be careful not to send to many requests to your website or I will get banned - how can i find out more about this?

3) How is your anime database maintained - is it a collaborative effort by staff moderating user input? How does your site compare to say MAL database? (I know this is a weird question but its interesting to know for my project and being able to justify decisions Very Happy )