• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Forum - View topic
Galaxy Express

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Anime News Network Forum Index -> General -> Series Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dragon Hunter

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 11:37 pm Reply with quote
Ok, can someone help a newbie here? I would love to watch the three Galaxy Express movies. But I have heard that the movie collection on DVD is DIFFERENT then the VHS signature editions. What is the real scoop here? What is the "ULTIMATE" Galaxy Express set I should buy???? I have seen "Perfect collections," "memorial collections". etc.all advertised on the net. And would you recommend region o(all) or region 1.

THANKS!
Nagisa

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:12 am Reply with quote
A: Region 0 is illegal, toilet-quality HK bootleg. Don't even consider it an option.

B: The Galaxy Express movies are out in R1? Where? How much? Show me. Nooooooooooooooow!*

*Eh...you'll have to pardon me. The first GE999 movie was what initially got me into anime, so I've been waiting with bated breath for any word on a domestic DVD release.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address My Anime My Manga
Sword of Whedon

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 1:23 am Reply with quote
The only legit release with English is from DVDAni out of Korea, and they're OOP. There are only 2 movies, the original and Adieu Galaxy express.

Viz owns both movies, and given the current climate there, it ain't happening any time soon.
azzmoneky

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 2:30 am Reply with quote
get the movies even if they are bootleg i remeber them being amazingly good look on ebay u might be able to ffind the 2dvd box set bootleg coudl get for less then 30usd

i cant remeber all of parts of the movies but the parts i rember are well amazingly good