News
BFI Ghibli Season Screening Dates Confirmed

Season will run through April and May.

In a press release, the BFI Southbank Centre in London (near Waterloo station) has announced the dates and times of the screenings in its upcoming Ghibli season. Note: NFT1 is subtantially larger than the other two screening theaters.

April screenings

Preview: The Wind Rises (Hayao Miyazaki), pictured. Wed 23 Apr 18:20 NFT1. The screening comes before the main UK cinema release of The Wind Rises on May 9.

Season Introduction: Studio Ghibli, Masters of Anime An illustrated talk on Ghibli by season curator Justin Johnson, exploring 'the quality and beauty of the Studio's output, its evolution through its 30 year history, and why it hasn't had the same box office impact as its American contemporaries.' Wed 2 Apr 18:30 NFT3

Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind (Hayao Miyazaki).

Wed 2 Apr 20:30 NFT3

Thu 3 Apr 18:20 NFT2

Mon 7 Apr 20:30 NFT3

Castle in the Sky (Hayao Miyazaki)

Thu 10 Apr 18:00 NFT3

Fri 11 Apr 20:40 NFT3

Tue 15 Apr 20:30 NFT3

Grave of the Fireflies (Isao Takahata).

Wed 3 Apr 21:00 NFT2

Wed 9 Apr 18:30 NFT1

Sun 13 Apr 16:15 NFT1

My Neighbour Totoro (Hayao Miyazaki).

Thu 17 Apr 18:30 NFT1

Sat 19 Apr 18:20 NFT2

Mon 28 Apr 20:50 NFT3

Kiki's Delivery Service (Hayao Miyazaki).

Sun 20 Apr 16:00 NFT1

Mon 21 Apr 16:00 NFT1

Sun 27 Apr 15:50 NFT1

Porco Rosso (Hayao Miyazaki). Screening from a brand new DCP

Sun 20 Apr 18:30 NFT2

Tue 22 Apr 20:40 NFT2

Tue 29 Apr 18:20 NFT2

Spirited Away (Hayao Miyazaki).

Sat 26 Apr 18:15 NFT1

Mon 28 Apr 18:15 NFT1

plus a special 'Family Funday' screening of Spirited Away on Sun 27 Apr at 13:00, NFT1, preceded by a 'Funday workshop' where children can create their own 'spirit gods'; the workshop begins at 1100 in the BFI foyer.

May screenings

Only Yesterday (Isao Takahata).

Sun 4 May 20:40 NFT2 TBC

Ocean Waves (Tomomi Mochizuki).

Mon 5 May 18:10 NFT3 TBC

Sun 11 May 20:40 NFT2 TBC

Pom Poko (Isao Takahata).

Mon 5 May 20:30 NFT3 TBC

Sun 11 May 16:00 NFT2 TBC

Whisper of the Heart (Yoshifumi Kondô).

Tue 6 May 20:40 NFT2 TBC

Fri 9 May 18:20 NFT2 TBC

Princess Mononoke (Hayao Miyazaki). Screening from a brand new DCP Sat 3 May 18:20 NFT2 TBC

Mon 5 May 16:15 NFT1 TBC

My Neighbours the Yamadas (Isao Takahata). Screening from a brand new DCP.

Fri 16 May 18:20 NFT2 TBC

Mon 19 May 20:40 NFT2 TBC

The Cat Returns (Hiroyuki Morita). Screening from a brand new DCP

Sat 17 May 18:20 NFT2 TBC

Thu 22 May 20:40 NFT2 TBC

Howl's Moving Castle (Hayao Miyazaki). Screening from a brand new DCP

Wed 21 May 20:40 NFT2 TBC

Sat 24 May 15:50 NFT3 TBC

Tales from Earthsea (Goro Miyazaki). Screening from a brand new DCP

Sat 24 May 18:20 NFT2 TBC

Fri 30 May 20:40 NFT2 TBC

Ponyo (Hayao Miyazaki).

Sun 25 May 16:15 NFT1 TBC

Tue 27 May 18:20 NFT2 TBC

Arrietty (Hiromasa Yonebayashi).

Mon 26 May 18:20 NFT2 TBC

Fri 30 May 18:20 NFT2 TBC

From Up On Poppy Hill (Goro Miyazaki).

Mon 26 May 20:40 NFT2 TBC

Sat 31 May 18:10 NFT3 TBC


discuss this in the forum |

bookmark/share with:

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

Around The Web