• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Forum - View topic
Manga Lettering Opportunties?

Anime News Network Forum Index -> General -> Manga
View previous topic :: View next topic  
DreamFeather

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 12:56 pm Reply with quote
Hello everyone! I am new to ANN, so I apologize in advance if my topic should be in another category.
I've been working in publishing for almost three years (not a major company), and I have my eyes on doing lettering for manga. I have experience in using InDesign, Photoshop, and Illustrator for book production (i.e. children's books and young adult novels). What are sources I can use to seek lettering gigs? I am from the U.S.!

Thank you!

Last edited by DreamFeather on Wed Dec 27, 2017 3:08 pm; edited 1 time in total
horseradish

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:56 pm Reply with quote
Perhaps check the manga company websites for staff openings or send a cold call (likely not very effective). Having industry connections that can offer recommendations is probably the most helpful along with relevant experience.

Here's a 2013 ANN forum thread about the subject with some participants who work in the manga industry, notably Vertical_Ed:
How to get a job retouching/lettering manga? Breaking in?

Mentions helpful skills or experience for manga lettering:
animenewsnetwork.com/bbs/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=4508977#4508977
http://www.slate.com/articles/podcasts/working/2017/10/what_it_s_like_to_be_a_comic_book_letterer.html
DreamFeather

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 10:39 pm Reply with quote
horseradish wrote:
Perhaps check the manga company websites for staff openings or send a cold call (likely not very effective). Having industry connections that can offer recommendations is probably the most helpful along with relevant experience.