• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Forum - View topic
Name consistency

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Anime News Network Forum Index -> Site-related -> ANN Feedback
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Lucia Black 13

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:36 pm Reply with quote
Does anyone else see some inconsistency? Well I just made an account to mention one particular case.

Specifically information related to tachikoma na hibi, the name being used for tachikomatic days (and the official english and most common one as the alternative)

I'm actually a wikipedia editor and currently ANN's news and reviews are considered reliable. Encyclopedic areas can't be considered reliable due to them being mainly user edited.

so I can understand if the encyclopedic areas don't often use the actual name. However there are inconsistencies of names in the news and reviews mainly being naming.

For tachikoma na hibi being used in the news and tachikoma days being used in reviews. And also leaves inaccurate information aswell.

Particularly one news such as tachikoma na hibi manga being the same name as the tv short series. Now its not true in the case of two aspects. 1) the short series english name is different. 2) they are merely pronounced the same in japanese but both use different kanji changing the meaning. The kanji of the tv short series translates as "a daily tachikoma" which makes sense why the official english title being tachikomatic days. The manga however translates as "tachikoma cracks"

Now this is just one example but I'm positive there are a lot more particularly older ones that have that problem. I find it suggest the lack of organization and proper research.
dormcat
Encyclopedia Editor

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 6:14 pm Reply with quote
Lucia Black 13 wrote:
Does anyone else see some inconsistency?