Prison School TV Anime Slated for July 10 Premiere

posted on by Rafael Antonio Pineda

The website for the television anime of Akira Hiramoto's Prison School manga announced on Wednesday the anime's July 10 premiere date.

The show will premiere on Tokyo MX on July 10 at 25:05 (effectively July 11 at 1:05 a.m.), and will air on the same time slot every Friday. Other channels airing the anime include:

The series will also begin streaming online in Japan on July 12, 12:00 p.m. on the J:COM On Demand, Hikari TV, Niconico Video, Tsutaya TV, U-NEXT, Rakuten ShowTime, Bandai Channel, Amazon Instant Video, Google Play, and PlayStation Video services.

North American publisher Yen Press licensed the manga for North America, and it describes the series:

Hachimitsu Private Academy was a revered and elite all-girls' boarding school on the outskirts of Tokyo...once upon a time. But with the new school year comes a revision to school policy: Boys are to be admitted into the student body for the first time ever. But on his first day at Hachimitsu, Kiyoshi Fujino discovers that he's one of only five boys enrolled at the school. Their numbers overwhelmed by the thousand girls in the student body, is it heaven or hell that awaits these five (un)fortunates?!

The anime's main cast is as follows:

Hiroshi Kamiya as Kyoshi

Katsuyuki Konishi as Gakuto

Kenichi Suzumura as Shingo

Daisuke Namikawa as Joe

Kazuyuki Okitsu as Reiji "Andre" Andō

Sayaka Ohara as Mari (President)

Shizuka Itou as Meiko (Vice President)

Kana Hanazawa as Hana (Secretary)

Tsutomu Mizushima (Girls und Panzer, Shirobako) is helming the project in J.C. Staff, working off of scripts supervised by Michiko Yokote (Valkyria Chronicles, Shirobako). Junichirō Taniguchi (Puella Magi Madoka Magica films, Monthly Girls' Nozaki-kun) designed the characters, and is also serving as chief animation director.

NARASAKI composed the show's opening theme song "Ai no Prison" with lyrics by Kenji Ohtsuki, while Ryuji Takagi composed the ending theme song "Tsumibukaki Oretachi no Sanka" with lyrics by Kiyomi Kumano. The five main male cast members are singing both songs under the group name "Kangoku Danshi" (Prison Boys).

Hiramoto launched the manga in Kodansha's Young Magazine in February 2011, and Kodansha published the 17th volume on June 5. The manga won the Best General Manga award alongside Yūji Moritaka and Keiji Adachi's Gurazeni manga at Kodansha's 37th Annual Manga Awards in 2013. The wraparound band on the 16th volume noted this month that the manga has more than 4 million copies in circulation.

discuss this in the forum (9 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

Daily Briefs homepage / archives