• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Game Symphony Japan to Hold Concert of Classic Sega Music

posted on by Eric Stimson
Also: Final Fantasy VII, Secret of Mana, EarthBound

Game Symphony Japan is scheduling a concert for October 10 exclusively featuring music from classic Sega Games. Although the program includes many Sonic the Hedgehog tunes, it also delves into other games from Sega's vast catalog, including 21 selections from NiGHTS into Dreams... alone.

The complete list of Sega titles represented is:

  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Sonic the Hedgehog 2
  • Sonic & Knuckles
  • Sonic Adventure
  • Sonic Adventure 2
  • Segagaga
  • Space Channel 5
  • New Roommania: Porori Seishun
  • Sakura Wars
  • Fantasy Zone
  • Virtua Fighter 2
  • Daytona USA
  • Cyber Troopers Virtual-On Force
  • Feel the Magic: XY/XX
  • The Rub Rabbits!
  • Burning Rangers
  • NiGHTS into Dreams...

Most of these titles will be represented by one or two pieces each, except for NiGHTS into Dreams..., Space Channel 5 (which will have three) and Virtua Fighter 2 (which will have four).

The concert will be performed by the Tokyo Chamber Orchestra, Tokyo Philharmonic Chorus, the band Meine Meinung (which focuses on game music), and be conducted by Kenichi Shimura. It will be MCed by M.A.O., Shiori Izawa, and Yūko Takayama, who voice the Dreamcast, Mega Drive, and Master System, respectively, in Hi-sCool! Seha Girls. Guests will include Takashi Iizuka, a producer of the Sonic series; Jun Senoue, a composer for the Sonic series; and Takenobu Mitsuyoshi, a sound director at Sega.

Tokyo Chamber Orchestra

Tokyo Philharmonic Chorus

Meine Meinung

The Sega concert will begin at 4:30 PM at the Tokyo Metropolitan Theatre in Ikebukuro. Tickets are on sale now at Ticketpia, e+, and Lawson.

In the meantime, Game Symphony Japan will also perform at the Ibaraki Prefecture Cultural Center in Mito on June 20. The program will feature the ever-popular Final Fantasy VII score, presented as a symphonic suite, along with selections from Secret of Mana and EarthBound. The orchestra will also head to Russia for game concerts on June 24 and 27 in Omsk and Chelyabinsk.

Game Symphony Japan is a concert series with the aim of "introducing game music to the classical repertoire performed by orchestras." It has performed music from Final Fantasy VII, Lost Odyssey and Blue Dragon, among others, and has already toured in Russia in 2014.

[Via Game Symphony Japan]

discuss this in the forum (3 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

Interest homepage / archives