Nintendo to Release Compilation of Legend of Zelda's Best Music

posted on by Eric Stimson
Spans 30 years of musical classics

One of the most consistently acclaimed aspects of the Legend of Zelda video game series is its music, which spans everything from simple 8-bit-era catchy tunes to tense, bombastic battle fanfares to quiet, beautiful melodies. With the series welcoming its 30th anniversary this year, Nintendo will release The Legend of Zelda Game Music Collection, a compilation of 93 of the series' best tunes, spread across two CDs. With 15 tracks each, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time and The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds are most represented, although there are also many selections from The Wind Waker and Four Swords Adventure.

The collection will have a limited first edition including a deluxe box and 16 different jackets, each showing different games' cover art. Furthermore, if you buy the collection on Amazon, you can get a free IC card sticker, and if you buy the collection at certain stores (not yet revealed), you can get a clear file.

Here is the track list:

  1. Title (The Legend of Zelda)
  2. Overworld
  3. Underworld
  4. Death Mountain
  5. Ending
  6. Title (Zelda II: The Adventure of Link)
  7. Overworld Map
  8. Town
  9. Palace
  10. Great Palace
  11. Battle (Foreign Version)
  12. Ending
  13. Title (A Link to the Past)
  14. Opening Demo
  15. Overworld
  16. Hyrule Castle
  17. Boss
  18. Tal Tal Mountains (Link's Awakening)
  19. Color Dungeon (Link's Awakening DX)
  20. Ending
  21. Title (Ocarina of Time)
  22. Navi the Fairy
  23. House
  24. Store
  25. Boss Battle
  26. Zelda's Lullaby
  27. Lon Lon Ranch
  28. Great Fairy Fountain
  29. Sheik's Theme
  30. Horse Race
  31. Horse Race Finish
  32. Song of Storms
  33. Gerudo Valley
  34. Ganondorf's Theme
  35. Ending Credits 2 (Orchestra)
  36. Majora's Theme (Majora's Mask)
  37. Stone Tower Temple (Front)
  38. Ending Credits
  39. Ending Credits 2
  40. Overworld (Oracle games)
  41. Moonlit Grotto (Oracle of Ages)
  42. Dancing Dragon Dungeon (Oracle of Seasons)
  43. Title (Wind Waker)
  44. Outset Island (Aryll's Theme)
  45. Granny
  46. Great Sea
  47. Dragon Roost Island
  48. Helmaroc King
  49. Molgera
  50. Puppet Ganon (Insect Mode)
  51. Ganondorf Battle
  52. Epilogue
  53. The Field (Four Swords Adventure)
  54. Dungeon
  55. Village of the Blue Maiden (Before Mystery is Solved)
  56. Village of the Blue Maiden (After Mystery is Solved)
  57. Realm of the Heavens
  58. Temple
  59. Palace of Winds
  60. Shadow Link Battle
  61. Beach Vacation (Navi Trackers)
  62. Cross-Shaped Floating Island (Navi Trackers)
  63. Title (Twilight Princess)
  64. Teaser Music #1
  65. Hyrule Field
  66. King Bulblin Battle
  67. Oshus's Theme (Phantom Hourglass)
  68. Linebeck's Theme
  69. Great Sea
  70. Spirit Train 2 (Spirit Tracks)
  71. Byrne's Theme
  72. Final Session: Malladus Battle, Second Half
  73. Ballad of the Goddess (Skyward Sword)
  74. Great Sky
  75. Ending Credits
  76. Title (A Link Between Worlds)
  77. Peaceful Hyrule
  78. Kakariko Village
  79. Meeting Princess Zelda
  80. Hyrule's Bosses
  81. Mother Maiamai's Theme
  82. Lost Woods
  83. Hyrule Main Theme 2
  84. Yuga Battle
  85. Princess Hilda Appears
  86. Passing Battle
  87. Ravio's Theme
  88. Lorule Main Theme
  89. Death Mountain
  90. Ending
  91. Main Theme (Tri Force Heroes)
  92. Woodlands
  93. Boss Battle

For Jacob Chapman's picks of the top 10 Zelda tunes (all but two of which are in the set), see The Set List. Two Zelda fans also developed a 3-D version of the original Zelda game to honor its 30th anniversary before it was taken down.

Sources: Kai-You and Nippon Columbia Co., Ltd.

bookmark/share with:

Interest homepage / archives