Yuri on Ice's Mitsurou Kubo Draws CD Art for Akiko Yano Album

posted on 2017-10-03 18:45 EDT by Lynzee Loveridge

One half of the minds behind the popular Yuri on Ice television anime lent her art skills for the latest album by Akiko Yano. Mitsurou Kubo drew the cover artwork for Yano's Soft Landing album set for release on November 29. Yano requested Kubo to draw the album and the artwork is based on Yano's own description.

Soft Landing is the latest album in Yano's "Playing the Piano" series. It includes three new tracks, including the title track that Yano composed as the theme song for the NHK drama Blanket Cats. Other tracks include "Bye Bye" by FujiFabric and "Roppongi de Aimashō" (Let's Meet in Roppongi) which serves as the 10th anniversary song for the Tokyo Midtown development area. The CD has 13 tracks in total including six cover tracks.

A release event for the album is scheduled in Tokyo Midtown on November 30.

Yano previously performed the theme song for Studio Ghibli's My Neighbors the Yamadas which she also starred in as Fujiwara-sensei. Kubo is likely still busy with her Yuri on Ice responsibilities. She and the series' director Sayo Yamamoto were guests this year at Anime Expo in California and AnimeFest 2017 in Dallas. The hit ice-skating romance series currently has a new anime film in the works.

Manga creator Kubo made her debut in 1996 with "Shiawase 5-han" in mimi magazine. She later created 3.3.7 Byooshi in 2001 and Tokkyu!! in 2004. Her 2008 romantic comedy manga Moteki inspired both a live-action television show and film. She launched her high school cheer group manga, Again!!, in 2011, and it received a live-action film adaptation in 2014. She co-created the Yuri!!! on Ice anime with Yamamoto, and contributed original character designs and storyboards.

Source: Comic Natalie

bookmark/share with:

Interest homepage / archives