Rock Band RADWIMPS to Also Perform on Kōhaku

posted on by Lynzee Loveridge
The band won't compete, but they'll definitely put on a show

NHK announced on Monday that the rock band RADWIMPS will perform during the 70th Kōhaku Uta Gassen ("Red and White Song Contest"), Japan's most-watched music television program. This is the band's first appearance on the program in three years. The "your name." theme song performers won't compete but will have a special performance as part of the program.

RADWIMPS made their major label debut in 2005 followed by two major hits, "Order Made" in 2008 and "Dada" in 2011. The group performed the soundtrack for Makoto Shinkai's your name. anime film and returned to collaborate with the director on his latest film, Weathering With You.

The yearly New Year's Eve contest pits two teams of female singers (the red team) and male singers (the white team) against each other. In this year's contest, actress Haruka Ayase (Hotaru no Hikari, Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit) is leading the red team, and Arashi member and actor Sho Sakurai (Honey and Clover, Yatterman) is leading the white team. Comedian Teruyoshi Uchimura is the MC for the third consecutive year, and NHK newscaster Mayuko Wakuda is announcing.

The full lineup for the 70th Kōhaku Uta Gassen includes:

(Note: The number in parenthesis represents how many times the singer/group has appeared on the program, including this year.)


  • aiko (14)
  • Ikimonogakari (11)
  • Sayuri Ishikawa (42)
  • AKB48 (12)
  • Midori Oka (3)
  • Keyakizaka46 (4)
  • Fuyumi Sakamoto (31)
  • Ringo Shiina (7)
  • Aya Shimazu (6)
  • Superfly (4)
  • Yoshimi Tendo (24)
  • TWICE (3)
  • Nogizaka46 (5)
  • Perfume (12)
  • Hinatazaka46 (debut)
  • Foorin (debut)
  • Seiko Matsuda (23)
  • MISIA (4)
  • Kaori Mizumori (17)
  • LiSA (debut)
  • Little Glee Monster (3)


  • Arashi (11)
  • Hiroshi Itsuki (49)
  • Official HIGE DANdism (debut)
  • KANJANI∞ (8)
  • Kis-My-Ft2 (debut)
  • King & Prince (2)
  • King Gnu (debut)
  • Hiromi Gō (32)
  • GENERATIONS (debut)
  • Junretsu (2)
  • Masaki Suda (debut)
  • DA PUMP (7)
  • Kiyoshi Hikawa (20)
  • Masaharu Fukuyama (12)
  • Hey! Say! Jump (3)
  • Gen Hoshino (5)
  • Daichi Miura (3)
  • Hiroshi Miyama (5)
  • Keisuke Yamauchi (5)
  • YUZU (10)

Source: Mainichi Shimbun's Mantan Web

discuss this in the forum (1 post) |
bookmark/share with:

Interest homepage / archives