• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

All Esper da yo! Manga Gets Live-Action Special Next Spring

posted on by Crystalyn Hodgkins
xxxHOLiC's Shōta Sometani again stars in sci-fi comedy

Kiminori Wakasugi's All Esper Dayo! (Minna! Esper Dayo!) science-fiction comedy manga is getting a live-action spinoff television special in spring 2015.

The special, temporarily titled "Minna! Esper Dayo! Bangaihen ~Esper, Miyako e Iku~" (All Esper Dayo! Extra Edition ~Esper, Go to the Capital~), will again star Shōta Sometani (live-action xxxHOLiC, pictured at right) as Yoshirō "Yocchan" Kamogawa. Shion Sono (Suicide Circle, Himizu, Tokyo Tribe) is again directing the special.

The first live-action drama adaptation premiered in April 2013 as a series of 12-minute episodes.

The psychic comedy follows an ordinary (virgin) high school boy named Yoshirō "Yocchan" Kamogawa (Sometani). His life changes overnight when he wakes up with the ability to read other people's minds. Yoshirō is not the only one to gain powers in his town. Teru-oichan (played by Mikata Sports), an (apparently virgin) worker at a café near Yoshirō's school, gains telekinesis — but he uses it for sex toys. Yōsuke Enomoto (played by Motoki Fukami), a (probably virgin) senior and former basketball player at Yoshirō's high school, gains teleportation — but only while naked.

Other cast members of the original live-action series include Kaho (Otomen) as Miyuki Hirano and Erina Mano as Sae Asami.

Wakasugi launched the manga in Weekly Young Magazine in 2009, shortly before he ended the popular comedy Detroit Metal City the following year. Kodansha published the sixth compiled volume of Minna! Esper Dayo! in February.

The announcement of the television special also included an announcement that Wakasugi will launch a new arc of the manga in Young Magazine in spring 2015.

Images © Minna! Esper Dayo! Production Committee
© Kimimori Wakasugi / Kodansha

Source: Comic Natalie

bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives