• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Teekyū Anime Renewed for 7th Season in January

posted on by Egan Loo
Cast returns to sing theme song in anime about girls in high school tennis club

The staff and cast for the anime of Piyo and Roots' Teekyū manga announced in a live-streamed event on Sunday that a seventh anime season has been green-lit. The new season will premiere on Tokyo MX, Sun TV, and other stations on January 11, and the main characters Yuri, Kanae, Nasuno, and Marimo (as voiced by Yui Watanabe, Suzuko Mimori, Kyōko Narumi, and Kana Hanazawa) are singing the theme song "Tsuppari-kun vs. Sekitori-man."

The returning cast members include (from top to bottom in the image above):

  • Kana Hanazawa as Marimo Bandō 
  • Suzuko Mimori as Kanae Shinjō 
  • Yuki Nakashima as Kinako Tanaka
  • Kyōko Narumi as Nasuno Takamiya 
  • Yui Watanabe as Yuri Oshimoto 
  • Kaori Ishihara as Udonko Kondō
  • Yui Ogura as Tomarin 

The original manga and the anime both follow the everyday lives of four girls in a high school tennis club — although they hardly play any tennis.

The show's sixth season premiered in October, after the fifth season premiered in Japan on July 6, and the fourth season premiered in April. The spinoff series Takamiya Nasuno Desu! (I am Nasuno Takamiya) also premiered in April. The animation production studio for the fourth and fifth season of Teekyū, as well as the Takamiya Nasuno Desu! spinoff, switched from MAPPA to Millepensee.

Piyo and Roots launched the original Teekyū manga in Comic Earth Star in early 2012, and the first anime season was announced just months later on the manga's first book volume. Earth Star Entertainment claims that this is the fastest television anime adaptation ever. A second and third season followed. Crunchyroll streamed the previous six seasons of the show, as well as the Takamiya Nasuno Desu! spinoff, as they aired in Japan.

The franchise also inspired a stage play from July 29-August 2 in Tokyo.

[Via Hachima Kikō]

Update: Shin Itagaki is once again directing, writing, shooting, and designing the anime at Millepensee, and Dax Production is producing the sound. Eri Kitamura and Ryota Ohsaka are also returning as the characters Anenkofu Kondō and Yōta Oshimoto, respectively. The series will premiere on Tokyo MX on Monday, January 11 at 25:05 (effectively Tuesday, January 12 at 1:05 a.m.) Source: MoCa

discuss this in the forum (4 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives