Bono Bono Anime's Cast, 2 Promo Videos Revealed

posted on by Crystalyn Hodgkins
Fukuko Yukimiyama, Aya Ogata, Shinpei Takano, Yūki Kurofuji star in series premiering on April 2

The official website for the new 2016 anime of Mikio Igarashi's four-panel gag comedy manga Bono Bono announced the film's cast on Friday and revealed two promotional videos on Saturday.

Promotional Video

Special Version Promotional Video

The anime will premiere on April 2, and it will air on Saturdays from 4:52-5:00 a.m. on Fuji TV. The anime will star:

Fukuko Yukimiyama as Bono Bono
Aya Ogata as Chipmunk (Shimarisu)
Shinpei Takano as Raccoon (Araiguma)
Yūki Kurofuji as Fishing Cat (Sunadori Neko)

Hidenori Yamaguchi (episode director for Machine Hayabusa, Sazae-san) is directing the anime at Eiken (Sazae-san, Musashi no Ken) in collaboration with TYO Animations. Mitsutaka Hirota (The Prince of Tennis II, Phantasy Star Online 2: The Animation) is handling the series composition, and Takatsugu Wakabayashi (Majin Bone, Dragonar Academy) is composing the music. Rock band Monobright (Gintama) is performing the theme song "bonobono Suru."

The manga depicts the absurd gag humor of Bono Bono the otter, Shimarisu the chipmunk, Araiguma the raccoon, and other animals.

Igarashi serialized the original manga in Manga Life, Manga Club and other Takeshobo magazines from 1986 onward, and the series' first 40 volumes have 9 million copies in print. The first television anime of the manga ran from April 1995 to March 1996, and the upcoming second television anime will celebrate the manga's 30th anniversary.

Source: Anime! Anime!; Katsunori Takahashi

discuss this in the forum (1 post) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives