• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Love Live! Film, Shirobako Win Tokyo Anime Award Festival's Top Prizes

posted on by Egan Loo
Gintama, director Yōichi Fujita, Mr. Osomatsu writer Shū Matsubara, animator Chikashi Kubota, designer Naoyuki Asano also win

The Tokyo Anime Award Festival revealed this year's winners in a ceremony on Monday.

Theatrical Animation Division

Love Live! The School Idol Movie

Television Animation Division


Animation of the Year: Anime Fan Award


Best Director

Yōichi Fujita

Best Script/Original Work

Shū Matsubara (Mr. Osomatsu)

Best Animator

Chikashi Kubota

Best Character/Mecha Design

Naoyuki Asano

The festival announced recipients of this year's Lifetime Achievement Awards beforehand:

Character Designer/Director

Toyoo Ashida (Cyborg 009, Space Battleship Yamato, Vampire Hunter D)

Sound Director

Yasuo Urakami (Doraemon television anime and films, multiple Mobile Suit Gundam series)

Voice Actress

Yoshiko Ohta (Kimba the White Lion/Jungle Emperor's Leo, Princess Knight's Sapphire, Doraemon's Nobita)


Tatsuo Shimamura (Full Metal Panic!, Gate Keepers 21, Antique Bakery)


Shinichi Suzuki (Pāman, The Legend of the Galactic Heroes, One Piece)

Art Composition

Kiyoshi Hashimoto (Hakujaden/Panda and the Magic Serpent)

Animator, Character Designer

Norio Hikone (Alakazam the Great, Kimba the White Lion, Animal Treasure Island)


Ichiro Mizuki (Mazinger Z, Combattler V, Voltes V)


Shigeru Mizuki (Kitaro, Hitler, Onward Towards Our Noble Deaths)


Yoshiaki Yoshida (Dog of Flanders, Kyojin no Hoshi, Galaxy Express 999)
Ashida, Urakami, and Shigeru Mizuki passed away before receiving their awards.

To be eligible, the works had to have been screened in theaters or broadcast on television in Japan between November 1, 2014 and October 31, 2015. The Tokyo Anime Award Festival screened all of these titles from March 18 to March 21.

Studio Ghibli and Hayao Miyazaki's The Wind Rises won the film award at 2014's festival and Attack on Titan won the television award. Last year, Frozen and Ping Pong the Animation won these respective awards.

[Via Ota-Suke]

discuss this in the forum (9 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives