Re:ZERO -Starting Life in Another World- Anime's 2nd Promo Previews Opening Theme

posted on by Karen Ressler

The official website for the Re:ZERO -Starting Life in Another World- (Re: Life in a different world from zero or Re: Zero Kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu) television anime adaptation began streaming a second promotional video for the series on Sunday. The video previews the opening theme song "Redo" by Konomi Suzuki.

The website also announced two new cast members: Takehito Koyasu as Roswaal L Mathers and Mamiko Noto as Erza Granhill. Roswaal is pictured below:

Subsequent episodes will premiere on Sundays at 1:35 p.m. EDT. Crunchyroll will stream the series as it airs in Japan. The first episode will begin streaming worldwide outside of Asia on April 3 at 2:35 p.m. EDT.

The anime is inspired by Tappei Nagatsuki and illustrator Shinichirou Otsuka's light novel series of the same name, which Yen Press will publish in North America along with a manga adaptation. Crunchyroll describes the story:

Natsuki Subaru, an ordinary high school student, encounters a beautiful silver-haired girl from another world. Subaru wants to stay by her side and help her, but the burden she carries is far beyond anything Subaru imagined. They're faced with one attacking monster after another, betrayal, irrational violence... and finally death. Subaru doesn't want to see her get hurt, so he vows to take down any enemy, any fate that comes his way, to protect her. And so this powerless boy obtains "Return by Death," a unique ability that allows him to turn back time by dying. It becomes the potential to guide all people to a world where everyone can always be smiling, dependent on Subaru's life and loneliness. By using his power, the past can be lost, and memories can be rewritten. Subaru must now fight the fate that dooms him to keep all those forgotten memories hidden within, to be perpetually beaten, to see his own heart wearing down, to wager his life... all to protect the people he cares about. To get back the precious times that he's sure must have happened.

"Even if you forget me, I will never forget you."

The anime's cast and character designs include:

Yūsuke Kobayashi as Subaru Natsuki

Rie Takahashi as Emilia

Yumi Uchiyama as Puck

Chinatsu Akazaki as Felt

Inori Minase as Rem

Rie Murakawa as Rum

Satomi Arai as Beatrice

Yūichi Nakamura as Reinhardt

Masaharu Watanabe (Wakaba Girl director, episode director for The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya) is directing the anime at Studio White FOX. Masahiro Yokotani (Maria Holic, both seasons of Free!, SHIMONETA: A Boring World Where the Concept of Dirty Jokes Doesn’t Exist) is handling the series composition, and Kyuta Sakai (Steins;Gate, Sankarea: Undying Love, Humanity Has Declined) is designing the characters and serving as chief animation director.

MYTH&ROID will perform the ending theme song "STYX HELIX."

discuss this in the forum (6 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives