• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Yotsuba&!, Hanagami Sharaku Win 20th Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize's Top Award

posted on by Rafael Antonio Pineda
Machida-kun no Sekai, Jimihen, Kyoto International Manga Museum also win

The Asahi Shimbun newspaper announced the winners for the 20th Annual Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize awards on Wednesday. Unlike previous years, the nominating committee chose two winners for the Grand Prize.

Grand Prize

Hanagami Sharaku
Kei Ichinoseki
In the Edo period, the second son of a town official works as a flute player under kabuki master Ichikawa Danjūrō V at the Nakamura-za theater. However, when his older brother is killed he must once again learn to become a warrior. At the same time, a serial killer is targeting young girls in Edo. The kabuki- and ukiyo-e-themed manga was serialized irregularly in Big Comic Special from 2003 to 2009.

Kiyohiko Azuma
The Koiwai family, little Yotsuba and her father, have just moved to a new town. As their new neighbours get to know them, it becomes obvious that Yotsuba is one very weird little girl...

New Creator Prize

Machida-kun no Sekai
Yuki Andō
Machida is a quiet, awkward, bespectacled boy, whose slightly below-average grades belie his appearance. He thinks there is nothing special about himself, but all around him there are people who treasure him.

Short Work Prize

Tatsuya Nakazaki
Nakazaki's long-running manga collection of comedy short stories launched in 1991 and ended last August, after 25 years of serialization in Shogakukan's Big Comic Spirits magazine.

The committee awarded the Special Prize to the Kyoto International Manga Museum in recognition of its 10th anniversary and its contributions to manga culture.

This year's nominating committee — which includes novelist Atsuko Asano, actress Anne, manga creator Machiko Satonaka, university professor Shōhei Chūjō, manga editor Haruyuki Nakano, manga commentator Shinbo Nobunaga, manga creator and researcher Tarō Minamoto, and manga researcher Tomoko Yamada — selected the nominees and winners from among the works that were published from January to December 2015.

Last year, the judging committee nominated nine titles, and Yoriko Hoshi's Aisawa Riku won the Grand Prize.

The newspaper awards a 2-million-yen (about US$20,000) Manga Grand Prize along with a statuette of Tezuka's Mighty Atom (Astro Boy) character, though this year the award money will be split among the two Grand Prize winners. In addition, 1 million yen (US$10,000) goes to each of the winners of the New Creator Prize, Short Work Prize, and the Special Prize every year. The actual awards presentation ceremony will take place on May 29.

Source: Comic Natalie

discuss this in the forum (5 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives