• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Macross Delta's 1st Walküre Album Earns Gold Disc Certification

posted on by Karen Ressler
Album ships more than 100,000 copies

Walküre Attack!, the debut album of the Macross Delta anime's in-story idol unit Walküre, has shipped more than 100,000 copies, earning the album a gold disc certification from the Recording Industry Association of Japan.

The album shipped on July 6 and sold 77,527 copies for the week of July 4-10, ranking #2 on the Oricon Album charts for that week. The album features 12 tracks, including the songs "Ichido Dake no Koi Nara" and "Run ga Pikatto Hikattara" from the unit's first single.

"Ichido Dake no Koi Nara/Run ga Pikatto Hikattara," the group's first single, debuted at #3 on the Oricon singles chart for the May 9-15 week. It sold 35,839 copies after shipping on May 11. The group's second single, "Zettai Reido θ Novatick/Hametsu no Junjō," shipped on August 10.

Walküre is composed of five members, including 15-year-old JUNNA, who is the singing voice of lead vocalist Mikumo Guynemer. (Ami Koshimizu voices the character's speaking voice.) JUNNA is the youngest major singer in a Macross anime project thus far. The other singers in Walküre are also voice-acting their respective characters: Minori Suzuki as Freyja Wion, Kiyono Yasuno as Kaname Buccaneer, Nozomi Nishida as Makina Nakajima, and Nao Tōyama as Reina Prowler.

The group is also performing a "SANKYO presents 'Macross Delta' Tactical Music Unit Walküre 1st LIVE in Zepp Walküre Attack!" live tour, which will perform in Osaka and Nagoya in August and in Tokyo in September. The unit has announced more performances, and will announce more details about those extra performances during the anime's eighth episode on May 22.

The anime's first original soundtrack went on sale on June 22. The album contains 30 tracks from composers Saeko Suzuki, TOMISIRO, and Mina Kubota.

Source: Ota-Suke

discuss this in the forum (16 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives