Popin Q Anime Film Casts Wakako Shimazaki, Daisuke Ono, Michio Hazama

posted on by Rafael Antonio Pineda
New special video for December 23 film also streamed

The official website for the Popin Q film announced additional guest cast members for the film on Tuesday. The new characters are all members of Isumi's family.

Wakako Shimazaki as Eriko, Isumi's mother

Daisuke Ono as Junpei, Isumi's father

Michio Hazama as Genji, Isumi's grandfather

Toei also began streaming a third new special video with a minute of footage from the film last Friday.

Toei had initially planned to release the film in January 2017, but decided to move it forward to December 23, 2016 and increase the number of theaters showing the film.

The cast for the main heroines is:

Asami Seto as Isumi Kominato

Shiori Izawa as Aoi Hioka

Tomoyo Kurosawa as Saki Tsukui

Ari Ozawa as Asahi Ōmichi

Atsumi Tanezaki as KONATSU Tomodate

The cast for the Popin race includes:

Marina Tanoue as Pocon, Isumi's Isotope, or partner from the Popin race

Kaori Ishihara as Luchia, Aoi's Isotope

Kaede Hondo as Darren, KONATSU's Isotope

M.A.O as Tadona, Asahi's Isotope

Satomi Arai as Rupy, Saki's Isotope

Other cast members include (romanizations not yet confirmed):

The story begins the day before the graduation ceremony. Five middle school girls each are preoccupied with their real everyday lives. These girls meet each other in a fantasy world after being sent there through a sudden occurrence. There, they learn about the impending crisis that this world is facing. The way to avert this crisis is for the five to collaborate and bring their five hearts together as one through dance. However, the five cannot come to love the world, and cannot tell their true feelings to one another, so their hearts are unable to unite. The time limit is fast approaching. Can the dance of the five girls save the world? And will they be able to graduate?

Izumi Todo, the collective pseudonym for the Toei Animation staff, is credited with the film's original work. Naoki Miyahara (Dragon Ball Z, "Precure All-Star DX 3D Theater" short, Precure series dance sequences) is directing the film, and Kouhaku Kuroboshi (Kino's Journey, World Conquest Zvezda Plot) drafted the original character designs. Shūko Arai (live-action Twin Spica series) is the scriptwriter, and Takayuki Uragami serves as character designer and chief animation director. Hiromi Mizutani (Tanaka-kun is Always Listless, Toriko, Non Non Biyori) and Shūji Katayama (Overlord, Yurumates3Dei) of Team-MAX are composing the film's music, and the idol unit P.IDL will perform the opening song "Teenage Blues" for the film.

Questy will perform the theme song "Fantasy" and a background song for the anime. The performance will mark the debut of the all-female dance and vocal unit.

Daiki Nakazawa (Heartcatch Precure!, Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Gods) is serving as CG director, Makoto Sakamoto is handling the art setting, and Yutaka Ōnishi is the art director.

The film is commemorating Toei Animation's 60th anniversary.

Source: Animate Times

discuss this in the forum (1 post) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives