• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Funimation Adds Nichijou, Scrapped Princess, The Betrayal Knows My Name Anime

posted on by Crystalyn Hodgkins
Company to release all 3 series in February 2017

FUNimation Entertainment announced at its panel at YoumaCon in Detroit on Friday that it has licensed the Nichijou - My Ordinary Life, Scrapped Princess, and The Betrayal Knows My Name television anime series.

Funimation will release all 26 episodes of Nichijou - My Ordinary Life as well as an episode 0 OVA on Blu-ray Disc and DVD in a complete series set on February 7. The set will have Japanese audio with English subtitles. Funimation describes the series:

From the creators of K-ON! and Lucky Star comes a slice-of-life series packed with absurd antics and hilarious high school predicaments.
Follow the adventures of three ordinary girls as they make life's awkward moments a thousand times worse. Along with a colorful bunch of classmates, they learn their most important lessons the hard way. Like whether goats are an appropriate form of transportation, who would win in a wrestling match between the principal and a deer, and most notably, if the three-second rule applies to weenies that fly through mohawks. Meanwhile down the street, a pocket-sized professor makes life difficult for a robot who just wants to be normal. But normal is the last thing you can expect in a town where salmon falls from the sky. In fact, the only thing you can count on is your friends, but even they are totally weird.

Bandai Entertainment previously licensed the series, but cancelled the release in 2012 when the company stopped offering new home video and manga releases. The anime originally aired in 2011, and Crunchyroll streamed the series as it aired.

The anime is based on Keiichi Arawi's comedy manga, which ended in December 2015 with its 10th volume. Vertical Comics is releasing the manga in English, and published the manga's fifth volume on November 1.

Funimation will release Scrapped Princess in a Blu-ray Disc/DVD complete series combo pack on February 28. The set will include Japanese and English audio and English subtitles. Funimation describes the series:

From the studio that brought you Fullmetal Alchemist and Eureka Seven comes a fantasy adventure full of laughter, heartbreak, and the secrets of a time long forgotten.
Pacifica Cassul is a kindhearted girl living on the run, for prophecy has named her the poison that would destroy the world. Known as the Scrapped Princess, she's the target of countless followers of a powerful religion. But even when it seems like the whole world is out to get her, she always has her two adoptive siblings—Shannon and Raquel. Together they travel the countryside, making new friends and battling countless foes. Bit by bit, they uncover the incredible truth behind the prophecy and its ties to mysterious events from 5,000 years ago. With the fate of the world in her naïve hands, Pacifica and her siblings must learn who to trust and take on enemies of godly power. But for all their struggle, should such a poison be allowed to live?

Studio BONES animated the 24-episode series, which aired in 2003. Bandai Entertainment released the series in North America, but its license expired in 2011.

The anime is based on a light novel series by Ichiro Sakaki. Sakaki published the original 13-novel series and the 5-volume Scrapped Princess Supplement series from 1999-2005. Tokyopop published part of Sakaki's original novel series, and also published all three volumes of Go Yabuki's 2002 manga adaptation in English. Toshinori Sogabe (Ah My Buddha, Amaenaideyo!!) launched a new manga series based on the novels last month.

Funimation will release the complete series of The Betrayal Knows My Name on DVD only with Japanese audio and English subtitles on February 28. Funimation describes the series:

A soul reborn, a love that spans through time. Follow the bewitching tale of demons, magic, and an undying bond. Gifted with a strange ability to see into the troubles of others, kind-hearted Yuki Sakurai finds his life turned upside down the day a handsome stranger named Luka appears. A peculiar longing pulls Yuki towards him—is this the mysterious man from his dreams? He's left with questions but no time for answers as danger begins lurking around every corner. Evil beings appear, known as “Duras”, seeking the power that dwells within him. But the mystery of who he is, and who he once was, will bring everything crashing down around him. He has a choice: side with the Giou clan and their Zweilts—powerful duos who fight the Duras—or follow his beloved childhood friend down the path to humanity's demise. Torn between two sides, only Luka promises him loyalty, devotion, and protection against a world filled with secrets and betrayal.

The 24-episode anime aired in 2010, and Crunchyroll streamed the series in various regions as it aired in Japan.

The anime is based on Hotaru Odagiri's manga. Odagiri launched the manga in Monthly Asuka in 2005, and Kadokawa published the manga's 11th compiled book volume in October 2012. The manga returned from a hiatus in May, and Kadokawa published the manga's 12th volume in Japan on August 26. Yen Press is releasing the manga in North America, and has released six omnibus volumes.

discuss this in the forum (116 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives