• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Next 'When They Cry' Title Launches After Higurashi, Umineko

posted on by Jennifer Sherman
07th Expansion plans to release series' "completely different" game in 2017

Mystery suspense dōjin game creator Ryukishi07 revealed on the official Twitter account of his dōjin circle 07th Expansion on Friday he plans to release the next title in his Naku Koro ni (When They Cry) series in 2017. He said that he plans to make the next game "completely different" from Higurashi no Naku Koro ni (Higurashi: When They Cry) and Umineko no Naku Koro ni (Umineko - When They Cry).

07th Expansion launched the first chapter of the Higurashi no Naku Koro ni visual novel software in 2002 at Comiket. The story revolves around murders that coincide with an annual festival in a quiet rural village. The software inspired two television anime series, several video anime projects, a live-action television series, two live-action films, and manga adaptations by several artists.

MangaGamer released the original visual novel in 2009, and has been releasing Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Hou, a remastered version of all previous Higurashi no Naku Koro ni releases plus new and unreleased content, as 14 individual chapters. The company released the Higurashi: When They Cry Hou - Ch 4 Himatsubushi visual novel on Steam in October.

Umineko no Naku Koro ni, which debuted at Comiket in 2007, also inspired a television anime and manga. In the story, 18 people set foot on the remote island of Rokkenjima in October of 1986, when a spate of murders takes place.

MangaGamer released the Umineko - When They Cry -Question Arcs- visual novel on Steam in July, and announced in October that it plans to release the Golden Fantasia CROSS fighting game spinoff.

[Via 0takomu]

discuss this in the forum (9 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives