• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

'SukaSuka' Anime's New Promo Video Previews Animation

posted on by Rafael Antonio Pineda
Anime listed with 12 episodes premieres on April 12

Kadokawa began streaming a promotional video on Monday for the television adaptation of Akira Kareno and illustrator ue's Shūmatsu Nani Shitemasu ka? Isogashii Desu ka? Sukutte Moratte Ii Desu ka? (What do you do at the end of the world? Are you busy? Will you save us? or "SukaSuka" for short) light novel series. The video previews a song by Tamaru Yamada.

A previous live-action trailer for the anime previewed Yamada's cover of Simon & Garfunkel song "Scarborough Fair," and previewed the show's story in English.

The series will premiere on Tokyo MX and KBS Kyoto at 1:05 a.m. at night on Wednesday, April 12 (effectively Thursday morning). The series will also air on TV Aichi, Sun TV, TVQ Kyushu Broadcasting, BS11, and AT-X. The d Anime Store (Docomo Anime Store) will begin streaming the series on April 13.

The anime's website lists the series with 12 episodes.

The anime's cast includes: (Note: character name spellings aren't official.)

From left to right in image above:

  • Ryohei Arai as Willem Kmetsch
  • Azusa Tadokoro as Chtholly-Nota-Seniorious
  • Akari Uehara as Neflen Luku Insania
  • Machico as Icea Mize Valgalis

From left to right in image above:

  • Kazusa Aranami as Larntolk Itsuri Historia
  • Inori Minase as Noft Kay Desperatio

From left to right in image above:

  • Tomomi Mizuma as Tiat
  • Yurika Kubo as Panibal
  • Manaka Ishimi as Lakish
  • Hina Kino as Coron
  • Akane Kohinata as Armita (not pictured)

From left to right in image above:

  • Kikuko Inoue as Niglart
  • Shigeru Chiba as Glick Gleicluck
  • Juurouta Kosugi as Limeskin
  • Satomi Satou as Almaria Dufna

From left to right in image above:

  • Honoka Inoue as Firacoluribia Drio
  • Rina Satou as Lila Aspray
  • Mugihito as Swon Kandel

Original writer Kareno is personally handling series composition, and is also penning the scripts alongside Mariko Mochizuki (Aquarion Logos), Shingo Nagai (New Game!), and Toshizo Nemoto (Macross Delta). Jun'ichi Wada (The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan, Ragnastrike Angels) is directing the series at C2C and Satelight. Tōru Imanishi (Ragnastrike Angels) is designing the characters for animation based on ue's original character designs and is also serving as chief animation director. Stanislas Brunet (Senki Zesshō Symphogear, Macross Delta) is credited for world concept design, while Hocchi, Shinya Asanuma, and Toshinari Tanaka are credited for concept design. Hiroyuki Taiga is credited for design works, and Junichi Fukunaga is credited for prop design.

Azusa Tadokoro is performing the anime's theme song "Dearest Drop." TRUE (Sound! Euphonium, Beautiful Bones: Sakurako's Investigation) is performing the anime's ending theme song "From."

The series is set in a world where humans have been driven to extinction by "Beasts." The duty of fighting the Beasts fall to "Fairies," who are destined to use their powers to wield "Holy Swords" called "Kariyon" and eventually meet their destiny of death. A sole human being named Willem wakes up after several hundred years, and continues his fight against the Beasts. The series follows the everyday and transient lives of the leader Willem and the female fairy warriors.

Writer Kareno and illustrator ue launched the series in 2014, and published the fifth and final novel in April 2016. Kareno and ue launched the first novel in a sequel series titled Shūmatsu Nani Shitemasu ka? Mō Ichido Dake Aemasu ka? (Do you have what THE END? May I meet you once again?) in April 2016, and the third volume in the new series shipped in December.

New illustrator Kaname Seu launched a manga adaptation of the original novel series in Kadokawa's Comic Alive magazine last June.

discuss this in the forum (16 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives