Marvel vs. Capcom Infinite Story Trailer Reveals September Release Date

posted on by Rafael Antonio Pineda
Game adds Ultron, Sigma, Hulk, Chris Redfield, Thor, Chun Li, more

PlayStation began streaming a story trailer for Capcom's Marvel vs. CAPCOM Infinite PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC fighting game on Tuesday. The trailer reveals the that the game will ship on September 19. The video also reveals new characters for the game, including Ultron, Sigma (Mega Man X), Strider Hiryu (Strider), Hulk, Chris Redfield (Resident Evil), Thor, Chun Li (Street Fighter), Hawkeye, and Rocket Raccoon.

The game will have standard, deluxe, and collector's editions. Those who pre-order the standard edition will get the Warrior Thor and Evil Ryu costumes. People who pre-order the deluxe edition will receive the standard edition bonuses, Gladiator Hulk and Command Mission X costumes, and a character pass that gives players access to six post-launch characters including Sigma. People who pre-order the collector's edition will receive the bonuses from both the standard and deluxe editions, LED-powered Infinity Stones, and four interlinking dioramas featuring Chun Li, Mega Man X, Iron Man, and Captain Marvel.

Previously confirmed characters include Mega Man X (Mega Man X), Ryu (Street Fighter), Morrigan (Darkstalkers), Captain Marvel, Iron Man, and Captain America. Among the revealed characters, Mega Man X, Captain Marvel, Ultron, and Sigma have appeared in previous games in the Vs. series.

The game will feature single-player Arcade, Training, Story, and Mission modes, as well as multiplayer content. The multiplayer content includes ranked and casual matches, global leaderboards, and online lobbies with a spectator mode.

In the game, players have 2-on-2 team battles. Players can also choose one of six Infinity Stones from the Marvel universe to influence the battle's outcome. Capcom stated that "each Infinity Stone will customize characters with unique abilities and powerful game-changing effects that can quickly turn the tide of battle." The Infinity Stones (then called Infinity Gems) last appeared in the series in Capcom's 1995 Marvel Super Heroes fighting game. Capcom is developing the game using Unreal Engine 4 technology.

Capcom developed its first fighting game based on Marvel characters with the 1994 X-Men: Children of the Atom game, followed by the Marvel Super Heroes game in 1995. The games spawned the Vs. series, which saw characters from Capcom crossover with characters from other companies in a series of fighting games. Other Marvel crossovers with Capcom include X-Men vs. Street Fighter, Marvel Super Heroes vs. Street Fighter, and then the four Marvel vs. Capcom games. The Vs. series also spawned the Capcom vs. SNK games (crossover with SNK properties including King of Fighters and Fatal Fury), and Tatsunoko vs. Capcom (crossover with Tatsunoko properties including Gatchaman and Casshan).

Source: PlayStation Blog (Peter Rosas)

discuss this in the forum (9 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives