• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

New Hell Girl Anime's 2nd Promo Reveals July 14 Premiere

posted on by Jennifer Sherman
Series also reveals new visual, haunted house collaboration

The official website for Hell Girl (Jigoku Shōjo) franchise began streaming the first promotional video for the new Jigoku Shōjo: Yoi no Togi television anime on Thursday. The video shows the new mysterious girl character MICHIRU and reveals that the anime will premiere on July 14. (Note: The linked video on the official website is region-locked to Japan.)

The series will air on Tokyo MX, Tochigi TV, Gunma TV, and BS11 on Fridays at 24:00 (effectively 12:00 a.m. on Saturdays). It will air on MBS on Fridays at 27:10 (effectively 3:10 a.m. on Saturdays). A television special for the anime will air on the same networks at the same times on July 7. Family Gekijō will also air the anime and television special, and the channel will re-air the first three Hell Girl television anime series beginning on July 5 at 9:00 p.m.

The website also revealed a new visual.

The anime is collaborating with the haunted house Daiba Kaiki Gakkō to hold a special experience. The event will debut at the DECKS Tokyo Beach shopping complex on the man-made island Odaiba in Tokyo Bay on June 16.

The new series will have six new episodes and six "reminiscence" episodes. The anime's first and second Blu-ray Disc and DVD releases will ship on August 23 and September 27, respectively. Each release will feature three episodes.

The cast members feature returning cast reprising their roles, except for Misaki Watada as MICHIRU. The cast includes:

Hiroshi Watanabe (Hell Girl: Two Mirrors scriptwriter, Hell Girl: Three Vessels director) is again credited for the original concept. Takahiro Ōmori, the director of the first Hell Girl anime as well as Hell Girl: Two Mirrors, is returning to direct the anime at Studio DEEN. Also returning are Mariko Oka, Kenichi Kanemaki, and Yasuharu Takanashi for character designs, series composition, and music, respectively.

The rock band Mio Yamazaki will perform the show's opening theme song "Noise," and voice actress Mamiko Noto will perform the ending theme song "Irogami" (Colored Paper).

Thanks to Dennis R. for the embedded video.

discuss this in the forum (9 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives