Mikako Komatsu Performs Welcome to the Ballroom Anime's Ending Theme

posted on by Karen Ressler
Anime premieres in July at L.A.'s Anime Expo

The official website for the television anime of Tomo Takeuchi's Welcome to the Ballroom manga announced on Tuesday that Mikako Komatsu (Aoharu x Machinegun, Sunday Without God) is performing the ending theme song "Maybe the next waltz."

Rock band Unison Square Garden is performing the opening theme song "10% roll, 10% romance" and an insert song titled "Tettōtetsubi Yonayona Drive" (Through and Through, Night After Night Drive). Earlier promotional videos for the anime also featured Unison Square Garden songs as part of a collaboration.

Anime Expo will host the anime's world premiere in Los Angeles on July 2. The anime will begin airing on MBS on Saturday, July 8 at 26:08 (effectively Sunday, July 9 at 2:08 a.m.), and will premiere on Tokyo MX, BS11, and Gunma TV on July 9.

Yoshimi Itazu (Pigtails director, animation director for Paranoia Agent, Miss Hokusai, Den-noh Coil) is directing the series at Production I.G. Kenichi Suemitsu (K, Tōken Ranbu, Isobe Isobee Monogatari ~Ukiyo wa Tsurai yo~ stage plays) is handling the series composition, Yuuki Hayashi (My Hero Academia, Death Parade, Robotics;Notes) is composing the music, and Takahiro Kishida (Haikyu!!, Puella Magi Madoka Magica) is the character designer.

Kodansha Comics is publishing the manga series in North America, and it describes the story of the series:

Feckless high school student Tatara Fujita wants to be good at something - anything. Unfortunately, he's about as average as a slouchy teen can be. The local bullies know this, and make it a habit to hit him up for cash, but all that changes when the debonair Kaname Sengoku sends them packing. Sengoku's not the neighborhood watch, though. He's a professional ballroom dancer. And once Tatara Fujita gets pulled into the world of the ballroom, his life will never be the same.

The show's main cast includes:

Shimba Tsuchiya as Tatara Fujita

Ayane Sakura as Shizuku Hanaoka

Nobuhiko Okamoto as Kiyoharu Hyodo

Toshiyuki Morikawa as Kaname Sengoku

Kentarō Tomita as Gaju Akagi

Sumire Morohoshi as Mako Akagi

Takeuchi began the series in Monthly Shonen Magazine in 2011, and Kodansha published the eighth compiled volume in October 2015. Kodansha will publish the ninth volume in Japan on June 23. Kodansha Comics published the fourth volume in North America on March 21. The series has been nominated for Manga Taisho awards, and was ranked on Comic Natalie's and the Kono Manga ga Sugoi! guidebook's lists of best manga in 2013.

Source: Music Natalie

discuss this in the forum (10 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives