Irresponsible Galaxy Tylor Anime Casts Hina Higuchi, Takuya Eguchi, Ayaka Suwa

posted on by Rafael Antonio Pineda
Emi Nitta narrates series premiering July 11

The official website of Musekinin Galaxy Tylor, the new spinoff television anime based on Hitoshi Yoshioka's Uchū Ichi no Musekinin Otoko (The Most Irresponsible Man in Space) novels, revealed new cast members for the anime on Tuesday.

Nogizaka 46 idol group member Hina Higuchi will voice the robot Yamamoto, while Takuya Eguchi will voice the similarly named Yamamoto, a male character. Ayaka Suwa will voice Dolly. Emi Nitta will narrate the series.

The series will premiere on AT-X on July 11, and on TV Saitama, tvk, Sun TV, Nico Nico Video, and KBS Kyushu at later dates.

The series is the first television anime adaptation of the novels in 24 years since 1993's The Irresponsible Captain Tylor.

The new story centers on Banjo Ueki Tylor, and is set "beyond the distant future, in the even more distant future." It is long after the United Planets has declined, and the Empire has been destroyed. People have scattered all over the galaxy and lead peaceful lives on various planets. Banjo Tylor works in garbage disposal above the atmosphere of one of these planets, when he comes across a robot ship and finds a girl frozen in ice within. Suddenly, forces that are after the girl begin to activate all throughout the galaxy, as it is revealed that the girl is actually Goza the 168th, the harbinger of the galaxy's doom. Banjo and Goza set out on a journey to revive the United Planets, but nothing goes as planned.

Earth Star Dream idol group members Hikaru Koide and Kanon Takao will play Banjo Ueki Tylor and Azalyn Goza the 168th, respectively. The pair will also perform the anime's opening theme song "Smile Invitation" under the unit name Hikanon.

Hiroshi Kimura (Haitai Nanafa, Hamatora, Danchigai) is directing the anime at Animation Studio Seven. Natsuki Kita is designing the characters. Hidekatsu Shibata is the sound director, while Kenji Katoh is composing the music.

Yoshioka's novels inspired The Irresponsible Captain Tylor television anime in 1993, as well as a 10-episode OAV series that ran from 1994 to 1996. Right Stuf offered the original television anime in individual VHS and DVDs from 1998-2005, and also offered the OAV on DVD in 2001. Right Stuf re-released the series and OVA on DVD in 2009, and again in 2013. The series centered around the titular Justy Ueki Tylor, a chronically lazy spaceship captain that executes brilliant military victories against overwhelming odds with nothing but sheer luck.

[Via Otasuke]

discuss this in the forum (5 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives