Marvel vs. Capcom Infinite Game Adds Darkstalkers' Jedah as Playable Character

posted on 2017-07-17 01:00 EDT by Rafael Antonio Pineda
Game ships for PS4, Xbox One, PC on September 19

Capcom revealed during the Evolution Championship Series 2017 tournament on Sunday that it has added the character Jedah from Darkstalkers as a playable character in its Marvel vs. CAPCOM Infinite fighting game for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC. The video shows competitive fighting game player Ryan "Filipino Champ" Ramirez and competitive fighting game player and Capcom community manager Peter "Combofiend" Rosas playing the game and debuting the character in one set (5:49 in video below).

The character debuted in Capcom's 1997 Darkstalkers 3 game.

Marvel vs. CAPCOM Infinite will ship on September 19. Capcom released a "Story Mode" demo for the game last month.

The game will have standard, deluxe, and collector's editions. Those who pre-order the standard edition will get the Warrior Thor and Evil Ryu costumes. People who pre-order the deluxe edition will receive the standard edition bonuses, Gladiator Hulk and Command Mission X costumes, and a character pass that gives players access to six post-launch characters including Sigma. People who pre-order the collector's edition will receive the bonuses from both the standard and deluxe editions, LED-powered Infinity Stones, and four interlinking dioramas featuring Chun Li, Mega Man X, Iron Man, and Captain Marvel.

Previously confirmed characters include Mega Man X (Mega Man X), Ryu (Street Fighter), Morrigan (Darkstalkers), Captain Marvel, Iron Man, Captain America, Ultron, Sigma (Mega Man X), Strider Hiryu (Strider), Hulk, Chris Redfield (Resident Evil), Thor, Chun Li (Street Fighter), Hawkeye, Rocket Raccoon, Gamora (Guardians of the Galaxy), Thanos, Zero (Mega Man X), Nova, Black Panther, Dante (Devil May Cry), Arthur (Ghosts 'n Goblins), Doctor Strange, and Spencer (Bionic Commando).

The game will feature single-player Arcade, Training, Story, and Mission modes, as well as multiplayer content. The multiplayer content includes ranked and casual matches, global leaderboards, and online lobbies with a spectator mode.

In the game, players have 2-on-2 team battles. Players can also choose one of six Infinity Stones from the Marvel universe to influence the battle's outcome. Capcom stated that "each Infinity Stone will customize characters with unique abilities and powerful game-changing effects that can quickly turn the tide of battle." The Infinity Stones (then called Infinity Gems) last appeared in the series in Capcom's 1995 Marvel Super Heroes fighting game. Capcom is developing the game using Unreal Engine 4 technology.

Capcom developed its first fighting game based on Marvel characters with the 1994 X-Men: Children of the Atom game, followed by the Marvel Super Heroes game in 1995. The games spawned the Vs. series, which saw characters from Capcom crossover with characters from other companies in a series of fighting games. Other Marvel crossovers with Capcom include X-Men vs. Street Fighter, Marvel Super Heroes vs. Street Fighter, and then the four Marvel vs. Capcom games. The Vs. series also spawned the Capcom vs. SNK games (crossover with SNK properties including King of Fighters and Fatal Fury), and Tatsunoko vs. Capcom (crossover with Tatsunoko properties including Gatchaman and Casshan).

Thanks to Gamespot for the embedded video.

discuss this in the forum (1 post) |
bookmark/share with:

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives