Natsume's Book of Friends Roku's 1st New OVA Previewed in Video

posted on 2017-09-07 08:20 EDT by Crystalyn Hodgkins
6th season's 4th, 5th home video releases to both bundle OVAs

Aniplex began streaming a promotional video on Thursday for an OVA for Natsume Yūjin-Chō Roku, the sixth anime in the franchise based on Yuki Midorikawa's Natsume's Book of Friends (Natsume Yūjin-Chō) manga. (Note: the linked video is region-locked to Japan.) The OVA is titled "Suzunaru no Kirikabu" (The Ringing Bell's Stump).

In the OVA, Natsume and Nyanko-sensei have left the house to go shopping, but they find an elderly man collapsed on the sidewalk, and help him get back home. The man, who turns out to be a yōkai, lives in a gingko tree attached to a Shinto shrine, but the tree was struck by lightning a few days earlier. Natsume hears the yōkai's story, and learns that his return to the Earth is close at hand. However, the yōkai had made a promise with a certain human long ago, but he has since forgotten the promise.

The OVA will ship with the fourth Blu-ray Disc and DVD for the sixth season on September 27. Another unaired anime will ship with the fifth and final Blu-ray Disc and DVD on October 25. The episode will be titled "Mugen no Kakera" (A Fragment of Fantasy).

A flyer at this year's AnimeJapan event originally listed the sixth season with 11 episodes and two OVAs, but the OVA titles listed on the flyer were for OVAs previously published, and don't match with the two titles listed above.

Crunchyroll has previously streamed two OVA episodes from the anime's fifth season, Natsume Yūjin-Chō Go, as well as the Natsume Yūjin-Chō: Nyanko-sensei to Hajimete no Otsukai (Nyanko-sensei & The First Errand) OVA.

The sixth season premiered on April 11, and Crunchyroll streamed the series as it aired.

Thanks to Dennis R for the embedded video.

Source: Animate Times

discuss this in the forum (3 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives