• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Rumiko Takahashi Nominated for Eisner Hall of Fame

posted on by Rafael Antonio Pineda
Ranma 1/2, Inuyasha, RIN-NE creator nominated for 4th time

Comic-Con International announced on Monday that the Eisner Awards judges have nominated manga creator Rumiko Takahashi for the Will Eisner Comic Awards Hall of Fame this year. She is part of a selection of 16 nominees, four of whom will be selected by vote to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. This is Takahashi's fourth nomination, with judges previously nominating her in 2017, 2016, and 2014.

Creative professionals working in the comics or related industries, publishers, editors, retailers (comics store owner or manager), graphic novels librarians, and comics historians/educators can vote online now for four nominees, and the vote will continue until March 16.

In addition, judges have selected cartoonist Jackie Ormes and Marvel marketing manager Carol Kalish to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Other nominees for this year include: Charles Addams, Jim Aparo, Gus Arriola, Karen Berger, Howard Cruse, Carlos Ezquerra, Dave Gibbons, Paul Levitz, Tarpé Mills, Francoise Mouly, Thomas Nash, Lily Renée Peter Phillips, Posy Simmonds, John Wagner, and S. Clay Wilson.

In her career of over three decades, Takahashi created such manga series as Urusei Yatsura, Maison Ikkoku, Mermaid Saga, Rumic Theater, Ranma 1/2, One-Pound Gospel, Inuyasha, and RIN-NE. Many of her works became internationally popular and inspired anime and live-action adaptations. As of last March, her works have a combined 200 million copies in print. She appeared at the convention in 1994 and 2000.

The convention gave Takahashi an Inkpot Award during her first visit there. The previous Japanese inductees of the Eisner Hall of Fame were Osamu Tezuka (2002), Kazuo Koike (2004), Goseki Kojima (2004), and Katsuhiro Otomo (2012). Other inductees include the awards' namesake Will Eisner, Stan Lee, French creator Moebius, and Winsor McCay.

Source: Comics Beat (Heidi Macdonald)

discuss this in the forum (12 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives