• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Night is Short, Walk On Girl Wins Japan Academy Prizes' Animation Award

posted on by Egan Loo
Live-action Let Me Eat Your Pancreas, Teiichi no Kuni films also win awards

Masaaki Yuasa's Night is Short, Walk On Girl anime film won the Animation of the Year award at the 41st annual Japan Academy Prizes on Friday. The film was competing against Fireworks, Should We See it from the Side or the Bottom?, Napping Princess, Mary and The Witch's Flower, and Detective Conan: The Crimson Love Letter.

The live-action film adaptation of Yoru Sumino's Kimi no Suizō o Tabetai (Let Me Eat Your Pancreas or I want to eat your pancreas) novel won the Popularity Award in The Works category. Its stars Minami Hamabe and Takumi Kitamura were also honored as Newcomers of the Year. The film was nominated for Picture of the Year and Screenplay of the Year, but did not win either.

Ryōma Takeuchi was honored as Newcomer of the Year for his performances in the live-action film of the Teiichi no Kuni manga. The film's star Masaki Suda also won the Popularity Award in the Actor category.

The Third Murder, a live-action film, won the most awards including Picture of the Year, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, and Best Editing. La La Land won for Best Foreign Film.

The Nippon Academy-Sho Association, a Japanese group roughly comparable to America's Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences of Oscars fame, presents the Japan Academy Prizes every year. The nominees all receive "Awards of Excellence," but the actual top award in each category was presented in a ceremony on March 2 at the Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa in Tokyo.

Movies are eligible if they opened in Japan between December 16, 2016, and December 15, 2017.

The Animation of the Year category was only created 11 years ago. Last year, In This Corner of the World won the award. The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, Tekkon Kinkreet, Ponyo, Summer Wars, The Secret World of Arrietty, From Up On Poppy Hill, Wolf Children, The Wind Rises, Stand By Me Doraemon, and The Boy and The Beast were the previous winners. Before that, Studio Ghibli won the overall Picture of the Year Award for Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away.

Source: Comic Natalie

discuss this in the forum (4 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives