• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Night is Short Walk on Girl, Rokka, Re Zero, Heavens Lost Property Released Monday

posted on by Andrew Osmond
Also second volume of Hyou-ka, next One Piece, standard Blu-rays of Wolf’s Rain and Sword Art Online II volume 2

On Monday June 25, Anime Limited will release Masaaki Yuasa's feature film Night is Short, Walk On Girl in three editions: a Collectors Blu-ray/DVD combi edition (pictured), a standard Blu-ray edition and a standard DVD edition. The Collectors edition will also include a 52-page booklet.

The main staff of Yuasa's previous anime The Tatami Galaxy anime returned for the film. Masaaki Yuasa directed the film at his Science SARU studio, and Makoto Ueda wrote the script. Yūsuke Nakamura, the cover artist for the original novel as well as The Tatami Galaxy, designed the characters. Michiru Oshima composed the music. The film's website gave the following synopsis:

"Gracefully yet violently, The Girl with Black Hair (Kana Hanazawa) swirls through the abstract Kyoto night a joyful tempest. Blowing through pub crawls, festivals and book fairs, her youthful glee infects parties of increasingly eccentric characters, but amongst the debtors, existentialists and the God of the Old Book Market, can she be convinced “coincidental” encounters are fate and will she notice the Senpai (Gen Hoshino) in pursuit of her love? Whether the hands on your clock move fast or slow, Night is Short, Walk On Girl."

The film adapts Tomihiko Morimi's (The Eccentric Family, The Tatami Galaxy) novel of the same name.

Anime Limited will also release the 12-part series Rokka: Braves of the Six Flowers, as a Collectors Blu-ray and a DVD. The Collectors Blu-ray also includes a 48-page art book. Crunchyroll described the show's story:

Legend says, when the Evil God awakens from the deepest of darkness, the god of fate will summon Six Braves and grant them with the power to save the world. Adlet, who claims to be the strongest on the face of this earth, is chosen as one of the “Brave Six Flowers,” and sets out on a battle to prevent the resurrection of the Evil God. However, it turns out that there are Seven Braves who gathered at the promised land... The Seven Braves notice there must be one enemy among themselves, and feelings of suspicion toward each other spreads throughout the group, with Adlet being the one who gets suspected first and foremost.

Takeo Takahashi (Spice and Wolf, MAOYU, So, I Can't Play H!) directed the series at the studio Passione. Hijiri Sanpei (MAOYU, Rail Wars! episode director) served as assistant director, and Tatsuhiko Urahata (Oreshura, Monster, NANA) wrote the script and handled composition. Sayaka Koiso (Rail Wars!, Haitai Nanafa) designed the characters and served as chief animation director. Michiru Oshima (Fullmetal Alchemist, Blast of Tempest, The Tatami Galaxy) composed the soundtrack.

Anime Limited will also release the first volume of the fantasy series Re:ZERO -Starting Life in Another World-, carrying the first 12 episodes of the series, as a Collectors Blu-ray and a DVD. The Collectors Edition will also include a 52-page booklet.

Anime Limited will also release the second half of Kyoto Animation's mystery/slice of life series Hyou-ka, as a Collectors Blu-ray and a DVD. This volume carries episodes 12 to 22 of the series. The Collectors Blu-ray also includes an 80-page booklet.

MVM will release the comedy series Heaven's Lost Property Series 1 (12 episodes), on Blu-ray and DVD. The anime adapts Suu Minazuki's manga about Tomoki Sakurai (Souichiro Hoshi), an ordinary middle school boy whose motto is "Peace is the #1 priority." However, a strange girl often appears in his dream to ask for his help — only he cannot remember her face when he wakes up. Then, his life gets more complicated when an unidentified mysterious animal (UMA) falls out of the skies. The "animal" turns out to be Ikaros (Saori Hayami), an angel.

Manga Entertainment will release the seventeenth volume of the series One Piece, carrying episodes 397 to 421.

Anime Limited will release a standard Blu-ray edition of the Studio Bones series Wolf’s Rain.

Anime Limited will also release a standard Blu-ray edition of Sword Art Online II Part 2, carrying parts 8 to 14 of the series. Extras include episode 14.5, called 'Debriefing'.

bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives