Mirai, MFKZ Films Nominated for Annie Awards

posted on by Jennifer Sherman
Awards ceremony to be held on February 2

The International Animated Film Society, ASIFA-Hollywood, announced the nominees for its 46th Annual Annie Awards on Monday. Mamoru Hosoda's Mirai anime film and Studio 4°C and Ankama's MFKZ (Mutafukaz) film received nominations in the Best Animated Independent Feature category. The other nominees are Ce Magnifique Gâteau!, Ruben Brandt, Collector, and Tito and the Birds.

Mirai also received a nomination in the category for "Outstanding Achievement for Writing in an Animated Feature Production." Other nominees include Incredibles 2, Ralph Breaks the Internet, Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, and Teen Titans Go! to the Movies.

In addition, Canadian game developer Eidos Montréal's Shadow of the Tomb Raider game received a nomination in the Outstanding Achievement for Character Animation in a Video Game category. Japanese game developer and publisher Square Enix published the game.

The nominees in the main Best Animated Feature category are Early Man, Incredibles 2, Isle of Dogs, Ralph Breaks The Internet, and Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse.

ASIFA-Hollywood added the Best Animated Independent Feature award for the 2016 awards in order to "recognize not only features in wide release, but also the independent animators, international studios, anime and special productions that might not otherwise get the attention they deserve." Sunao Katabuchi's In This Corner of the World and Kenji Kamiyama's Napping Princess were nominated for the award last year, but no anime received awards. Production I.G's Miss Hokusai, Michael Dudok de Wit and Studio Ghibli's The Red Turtle, and Makoto Shinkai's your name. were all nominated in the category in 2016, and The Red Turtle won the award.

The Annie Awards recognize outstanding achievement in animation. The awards ceremony will be held on February 2, 2019.

Sources: Annie Awards website, Deadline

bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives