• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

In This Corner of the World, Lu over the wall, 'Nee, Mama' Win Media Arts Awards

posted on by Crystalyn Hodgkins
The Last Guardian game also wins award

The Japanese government's Ministry of Cultural Affairs announced the winners of the 21st Japan Media Arts Festival Awards on Friday. Two works won the Grand Prize in the Animation Division this year, which is the first time since 2001 that more than one work has won the award.

Manga Division

Grand Prize

Nee, Mama by Aoi Ikebe

Excellence Award

Ulna at the Emplacement by Tōru Izu

Nyx's Lantern by Kan Takahama

Yorunome wa sendegozaimasu (The night has a thousand eyes) by Kentarō Ueno

AI no Idenshi (Gene of AI) by Kyūri Yamada

New Face Award

Amagiyuiko no tsuno to ai (A horn and love of Amagi Yuiko) by Yōko Kuno

Baku-chan by Jūshichi Masumura

BEASTARS by Paru Itagaki

The website also listed 39 Jury Selections in the Manga Division, including Boichi and Riichirou Inagaki's Dr. Stone, Posuka Demizu and Kaiu Shirai's The Promised Neverland, and Haruko Kumota and Shion Miura's The Great Passage, among others.

Animation Division

Grand Prize

In This Corner of the World by Sunao Katabuchi

Lu over the wall by Masaaki Yuasa

Excellence Award

Harmonia feat. Makoto short film by Tarafu Otani (Japan)

Cocolors OVA by "COCOLORS" Production Team (Toshihisa Yokoshima, Representative)

Negative Space short film by Ru Kuwahata / Max Porter (Japan / United States)

New Face Award

The Great Passage TV series by Toshimasa Kuroyanagi (Japan)

The First Thunder short film by Anastasia Melikhova (Russia)

Yin short film by Nicolas Fong (France)

The website also listed 29 Jury Selections in the Animation Division. The Jury Selections featured 10 Japanese works, including:

Colorful Ninja Iromaki
Animated feature film
Kentarou Kobayashi

Your Voice -Kimikoe (Kimi no Koe o Todoketai)
Animated feature film
Naoyuki Itō

Sound! Euphonium the Movie -May the melody reach you! (Gekijō-ban Hibike! Euphonium: Todoketai Melody)
Animated feature film
"Hibike!" Production Team (Taichi Ogawa, Representative)

Farewell Galaxy
Animated short film
Hiroshi Murakami

Norman the Snowman - On a Night of Shooting Stars
Animated short film
Takeshi Yashiro

Made in Abyss
Animated TV series
Masayuki Kojima

The Night is Short Walk On, Girl
Animated feature film
Masaaki Yuasa

Animated feature film
Hiroyuki Seshita

Animated short film
Tomoki Misato

Animated long film
Takahide Hori

Fumito Ueda's The Last Guardian game won the Grand Prize in the Entertainment Division.

Manga creator, manga researcher, and professor Osamu Takeuchi won this year's Special Achievement Award alongside businessman Shunsaku Tamiya.

Source: Comic Natalie

discuss this in the forum (1 post) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives