• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku o! Light Novel Bundles Original Anime Blu-ray

posted on by Karen Ressler
Video advertises Blu-ray disc, January TV anime

The official website for the television anime of Natsume Akatsuki's Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku o! (Give Blessings to This Wonderful World) light novels began streaming a commercial for an original anime Blu-ray disc that will bundle with the ninth light novel volume. The Blu-ray disc will include an original anime episode penned by Akatsuki and featuring the character Yunyun, who has not been revealed for the television anime. The bundle will ship in June 2016, though the discs are made to order and must be ordered before March 31.

The popular "alternate world home comedy" centers around Kazuma Satō, a hikikomori (shut-in) die-hard fan of games, anime, and manga. A traffic accident brings his disappointingly brief life to an end … or it should have, but he wakes up and sees a beautiful girl who introduces herself as a goddess. "Hey, I have some good news — would you like to go to an alternate world? You may only bring one thing you like with you."

He responds, "…So, I'll bring you." With that, he is transported to another world and his great adventure subjugating the demon king begins … but first the hard work of finding food, clothing, and shelter begins. Kazuma wants to live in peace, but the goddess raises one problem after another, and then the demon king's army has its eyes set on him.

The cast members for the television anime include:

Jun Fukushima as Kazuma, a game fan transported to an alternate world

Sora Amamiya as Aqua, the goddess who transports Kazuma to another world

Rie Takahashi as Megumin, the greatest mage even among her group of magic-users

Ai Kayano as Darkness, a powerful female knight with a sense of justice

Sayuri Hara as Luna, the guild's clerk

Tetsu Inada as a ruffian who always welcomes adventurers who visit the guild

Ayaka Suwa as Chris, a friend of Darkness

Hiroki Yasumoto as Dullahan, a leader of the demon king's army

Takuya Eguchi as Mitsurugi, a strikingly handsome adventurer with a sense of justice

Yui Horie as Wiz, the shopkeeper of a magical item shop

The cast is different from the cast of a drama CD that shipped on June 1.

Takaomi Kanasaki (Tokyo Ravens, Is This a Zombie?) is directing at Studio DEEN. Makoto Uezu (Is This a Zombie?, The Heroic Legend of Arslan, Yuki Yuna Is a Hero) is in charge of the series scripts, and Koichi Kikuta (animation director on episodes of Robotics;Notes, Haikyu!!) is designing the characters. Masato Kōda (Arpeggio of Blue Steel, Maria the Virgin Witch) is composing the music.

Other staff members include:

Art Director: Masakazu Miyake
Color Key: Saori Yoshida
Director of Photography: Shigemitsu Hamao
Editing: Kashiko Kimura
Sound Director: Yoshikazu Iwanami
Sound Effects: Yasumasa Koyama
Recording: Takayuki Yamaguchi
Sound Production: HALF H·P STUDIO
Music Production: Nippon Columbia

Machico is performing the opening theme song "fantastic dreamer" and Amamiya, Takahashi, and Kayano as their characters are performing the ending theme song "Chiisana Bōkensha" (Small Adventurer). The single CDs for both themes will ship on January 27.

The anime will premiere on January 13 on Tokyo MX and other channels.

Akatsuki launched the light novel series with illustrations by Kurone Mishima (The Devil Is a Part-Timer! High School! manga) in 2013, and Kadokawa published the seventh volume on August 29. The light novels already inspired a Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Bakuen o! spinoff novel series, and Masahito Watari launched a manga adaptation of the original novels in Kadokawa's Monthly Dragon Age magazine last September.

bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives