Kemono Friends Anime's 2nd Promo Video Previews Opening Theme

posted on by Crystalyn Hodgkins
Series premiering on January 10 also adds 20+ more cast members

The official website for the anime of Nexon's Kemono Friends smartphone game began streaming a second promotional video for the series on Thursday. The video previews the show's opening theme song "Yōkoso Japari Park e."

Eight members of the main cast — Serval, Fennec, Common Raccoon, and the five PPP idols — will perform the opening theme song "Yōkoso Japari Park e" (Welcome to Japari Park). Singer-songwriter Miyuhan will perform the ending theme song "Boku no Friend" (My Friend).

The series will premiere on TV Tokyo and TV Osaka late at night on January 10 at 1:35 a.m. (effectively on January 11), and the website lists the episodes with half-hour runtimes. The series will also air on TV Aichi and AT-X, and it will stream on the d Anime Store. Although the anime's premiere is slated for January, the original game will end service on December 14.

The anime will star:

Yuka Ozaki as Serval

Kana Motomiya as Fennec

Saki Ono as Common Raccoon

Aya Uchida as Kaban

Mikoi Sasaki as Royal Penguin (member of PPP Penguins Performance Project)

Ruka Nemoto as Emperor Penguin (member of PPP Penguins Performance Project)

Kyōka Tamura as Gentoo Penguin (member of PPP Penguins Performance Project)

Aina Aiba as Rockhopper Penguin (member of PPP Penguins Performance Project)

Ikuko Chikuta as Humboldt Penguin (member of PPP Penguins Performance Project)

Additional cast includes:

  • Reina Kondo as Oriental Small-clawed Otter
  • Minami Tsuda as Jaguar
  • Yukiyo Fujii as Suri Alpaca
  • Shino Shimoji as American Beaver
  • Naomi Ōzora as Black-tailed Prairie Dog
  • Mariko Honda as Lion
  • Mariko Kouda as Moose
  • Shiori Mikami as Northern White-faced Owl
  • Yuka Aisaka as Red Fox
  • Kanae Itō as Gray Wolf
  • Ai Nonaka as Reticulated Giraffe
  • Eriko Matsui as Brown Bear
  • Rika Tachibana as African Wild Dog
  • Misaki Watada as Golden Snub-nosed Monkey
  • Akari Uehara as Eurasian Eagle-owl
  • Eiko Nanami as Fossa
  • Yulia Kōno as Indian Elephant
  • Kaoru Hayano as Chital
  • Suzuko Mimori as Sakhalin Fox
  • Miyuhan as Sand Cat
  • Mami Yamashita as Margay
  • Haruka Terui as Hippopotamus
  • Tomoko Kaneda as Crested Ibis
  • Yu Kobayashi as Tsuchinoko

The anime's story takes place in Japari Park, a "gigantic integrated zoo." In the zoo, due to the mysterious "sand star" substance, the animals start turning into human-shaped creatures called Animal Girls. Japari Park is a place where many people visit and have fun at, but one day a lost child wanders into the park. The lost child starts a journey to return, but because so many Animal Girls join in on the quest it becomes an unexpected grand adventure.

Mine Yoshizaki (Sgt. Frog manga creator) is credited with the character concept designs. TATSUKI (Tesagure! Bukatsu-mono, Tesagure! Bukatsu-mono Encore animation director) is directing the series at studio Yaoyorozu (Tesagure! Bukatsu-mono, Minarai Diva). Shigenori Tanabe (Danchi Tomoo) is both writing and overseeing the scripts, Nobuyuki Abe (The Highschool Life of a Fudanshi, Bananya) is the sound director, Yoshihisa Isa is the animation director, and Yūko Shiromizu (background artist for Ghost in the Shell Arise, The Eccentric Family) is the art director.

Nexon launched the smartphone game last year. A manga adaptation by Furai titled Kemono Friends: Yōkoso Japari Park e! began in Kadokawa's Shōnen Ace magazine in May 2015.

Source: MoCa News

discuss this in the forum (2 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives