• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Seven Seas Licenses Fragtime Yuri Manga, Adachi and Shimamura Yuri Novels

posted on by Alex Mateo

Seven Seas Entertainment announced on Twitter on Wednesday that it has licensed five new yuri titles: the Fragtime manga, Adachi and Shimamura light novel series, the Goodbye, My Rose Garden, Failed Princesses manga, and the Syrup manga anthology.

Seven Seas will publish Sato's Fragtime in North America in print and on digital platforms in one omnibus edition on April 14, 2020.

The company describes the manga:

In this light science fiction romance manga, Moritani Misuzu has a unique power: for three minutes each day, she can stop time. Her life changes when she uses that same power to peek at a beautiful classmate's underwear. To Moritani's surprise, this classmate—Murakami Haruka—is immune to Moritani's time-freezing technique. Bound together by their odd powers, the two girls begin to grow closer…and find that it's more than their strange abilities attracting them to each other.

Sato published the manga on Akita Shoten's "Champion Tap!" manga website (now known as Manga Cross) from 2013-2014. Akita Shoten published two compiled book volumes for the series. The manga is inspiring an anime that will play in limited screenings at Shinjuku's Wald 9 and other theaters beginning on November 22.

Seven Seas will publish the first volume of Hitoma Iruma's Adachi and Shimamura (Adachi to Shimamura) novel series in North America in print and digital platforms on June 2, 2020.

Seven Seas describes the novel series:

Adachi and Shimamura, two young women who attend the same high school, are inseparable friends. Whether playing table tennis, chatting about favorite TV shows, or just relaxing together, they're happy to share their days. When Adachi's friendship turns into romantic attraction, the relationship begins to change, one day at a time.

Iruma launched the novel series in Dengeki Bunko Magazine in 2013 with illustrations by Non. Kadokawa published the eighth novel volume on May 10 — the first volume since the seventh volume shipped in 2016. Mani drew a three-volume manga adaptation of the novel series on Square Enix's Gangan Online website from 2016 to 2017. Iruma previously announced on their blog in March that the novels are inspiring a new manga, and Moke Yuzuhara launched the new manga in Kadokawa's Monthly Comic Dengeki Daioh magazine on May 25.

The novel series is inspiring an upcoming television anime.

Iruma's light novel series Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko ran for nine volumes from 2009 to 2011, with illustrations by Buriki. The novels inspired a television anime in 2011, and NIS America released the anime on Blu-ray Disc and DVD in 2013 under the title Ground Control to Psychoelectric Girl.

Iruma also wrote the Yagate Kimi ni Naru: Saeki Sayaka ni Tsuite (Bloom Into You - On Sayaka Saeki) spinoff novel of Nio Nakatani's Bloom Into You (Yagate Kimi ni Naru) manga. The novel shipped last November, and a second volume also debuted on May 10.

Seven Seas will publish the first volume of Dr. Pepperco's Goodbye, My Rose Garden (Sayonara Rose Garden) in North America in print and on digital platforms on April 14, 2020.

Seven Seas describes the manga:

England, the early 1900s. Alice, a young noblewoman, has a Japanese maid named Hanako working in her household. The two have a fairly typical relationship…until the day Alice begs Hanako to kill her. As Hanako tries to figure out why her mistress would make such a terrible request, she and Alice grow closer until an entirely new feeling begins to blossom between them. Don't miss this poignant tale about women falling in love in historical Britain.

The manga debuted on July 9 in MAGxiv on pixiv. The second compiled book volume shipped in Japan on August 9.

Seven Seas will publish the Syrup (Syrup Shakaijin Yuri Anthology) manga anthology, a collection of short manga about adult women in love, in North America in print and on digital platforms in a large trim size on June 9, 2020. The anthology features short manga stories by Milk Morinaga, Naoko Kodama, and Kana Yoshimura.

The company describes the manga anthology:

Beyond the tales of high school girls in the first bloom of love, stories of grown women yearn to be told. The Syrup collection focuses on women navigating love for other women amidst the ups and downs of a working life. Featuring short manga stories by a star-studded line-up—including Milk Morinaga (Girl Friends), Naoko Kodama (I Married My Best Friend To Shut My Parents Up), and Kana Yoshimura (Murciélago)—this fascinating collection is the perfect addition to any yuri library.

Futabasha published the anthology on May 11.

The first volume of Ajiichi's Failed Princesses (Dekisokonai no Himegimi-tachi) manga will debut in print and on digital platforms in North America on May 12, 2020.

Seven Seas describes the manga:

Fujishiro Nanaki is super cute, super popular, and super annoyed with anyone as plain as her classmate Kurokawa Kanade. When Nanaki finds out her boyfriend's cheating on her, however, her life makes a complete 180—as does her relationship with Kanade. This all-new yuri manga series explores the budding romance between the cool girl in school and the “plain” girl she once brushed off!

The manga launched on Takeshobo's Manga Life Storia Dash website in April 2018. The second compiled book volume shipped on June 28.

Source: Seven Seas Entertainment's Twitter account

discuss this in the forum (11 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives