• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Tatsuki Fujimoto's Chainsaw Man Manga Wins Best Manga at Harvey Awards

posted on by Crystalyn Hodgkins
Rumiko Takahashi inducted into hall of fame

The Harvey Awards, which honors outstanding work in comics and sequential art, awarded Tatsuki Fujimoto's Chainsaw Man (translated by Amanda Haley) with the Best Manga award on Friday. Fujimoto provided a statement for the awards ceremony, stating:

Thank you for the insanely awesome award! It's the best award of any awards that exist in America! I consider this crude manga of mine unbefitting of any award, but I plan to continue packing it full of all the things that I love.

If you ever happen to be handing out awards again, hit me up! Thank you very much!

The manga competed against Naoki Urasawa's Asadora!, Keito Gaku's Boys Run the Riot, Junji Ito's Remina, and Tatsuya Endō's SPY x FAMILY.

The organizers of the event also inducted manga creator Rumiko Takahashi as one of five new members for their Hall of Fame this year, alongside Bernie Wrightson, Jeffrey Catherine Jones, Barry Windsor-Smith, and Michael Kaluta. Takahashi also provided a statement about the award:

Thank you so much for this wonderful award. I am so honored the American readers have enjoyed my work. Through the medium of manga, I am so happy I am able to communicate with all of you. The world is in hardship due to COVID, but I hope my manga can provide some support.

The Harvey Awards added the Best Manga category in 2018. Kabi Nagata's My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness manga won the first award in this category. Kōhei Horikoshi's My Hero Academia won the award in 2019, and Kamome Shirahama's Witch Hat Atelier won the award in 2020.

In previous years, manga were nominated alongside other comics in the "Best American Edition of Foreign Material" category. The last manga to win the category was Hajime Isayama's Attack on Titan in 2014. One-Punch Man and Showa: A History of Japan (1953-1989) were nominated in 2016 but did not win. "Best American Edition of Foreign Material" is no longer a category.

Unlike the Eisner Awards and other awards in the North American comic book industry, the Harvey Awards are nominated and selected by the comic book professionals themselves.

Source: The 2021 Harvey Awards (Virtual Screening) at NYCC

bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives