• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
ANN Reader Survey • If you haven't had a chance yet, please fill out our annual survey, It's so helpful to us. As a thank you for filling out this massive survey, we're giving away 100 ANN subscriptions to people who fill it out. read more
  • remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

14th Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize Winners Announced

posted on by Egan Loo

The Asahi Shimbun paper has announced the winners for the 14th Annual Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prizes on Monday.

Grand Prize

Hyouge Mono - Tea for Universe, Tea for Life
Yoshihiro Yamada

New Artist Prize

Mushi to Uta
Haruko Ichikawa

Short Work Prize

Thermae Romae
Mari Yamazaki

Special Prize

Yoshihiro Yonezawa (1953-2006)
Comic Market co-founder, manga critic

Yamada's historical manga Hyouge Mono had been nominated twice — once three years ago and again this year — before winning. Artist Mari Yamazaki already received this year's Manga Taisho (Cartoon Grand Prize) for Thermae Romae, a gag manga that deals with the two cultures in the world "that have loved baths the most: the Japanese and the Romans!" Yonezawa passed away in 2006 after co-founding the largest dōjinshi market event in the world, writing a string of award-winning essays about manga's place in popular culture, and visiting North America for several anime conventions.

The Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prizes commemorate the contributions of the manga pioneer Osamu Tezuka (Astro Boy/Mighty Atom, Kimba the White Lion/Jungle Emperor, Phoenix, Black Jack) by recognizing the manga that best follow his tradition. This year's nominating committee — which includes manga creator Go Nagai, manga creator Keiko Takemiya, novelist Shion Miura, essayists, and university professors — selected from among the works that were published from January to December of 2009. The newspaper awards a 2-million-yen (about US$20,000) Manga Grand Prize to each of its winners. In addition, 1 million yen (US$10,000) goes to each of the winners of the New Artist Prize, Short Work Prize, and the Special Prize every year. The actual awards presentation ceremony will take place in Tokyo on May 28.

Source: Asahi Shimbun

discuss this in the forum (2 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives