K-ON! Band Ho-kago Tea Time Makes Surprise Appearance at Animelo Summer Live 2019

posted on by Kim Morrissy
Voice actor unit band last performed onstage in 2011

The rock band Ho-Kago Tea Time, which consists of the voice actors of the K-ON! anime, last performed onstage in 2011. Eight years later, the band made a surprise appearance on Sunday at the yearly anime song concert event Animelo Summer Live 2019.

Voices actresses Aki Toyosaki (Yui Hirasawa), Yōko Hikasa (Mio Akiyama), Satomi Satou (Ritsu Tainaka), Minako Kotobuki (Tsumugi Kotobuki), and Ayana Taketatsu (Azusa Nakano) performed as their respective characters in the anime's soundtrack and best-selling CD releases.

The five members lined up onstage and said, "This is Ho-Kago Tea Time!" before uttering their signature lines. Toyosaki said, "Sorry to keep you waiting!" Hikasa said, "Moe Moe Kyun!" and Satou said, "I'm the club president!" They also spoke of how touched they were at the audience's support after the anime's original release 10 years ago. After that, they played K-ON!!'s first opening theme song "GO! GO! MANIAC." After they finished performing, Satou told Hikasa, "Mio, don't cry," as they walked off the stage.

kakifly's original four-panel comedy manga follows a group of high school girls who form an afterschool rock band. The manga inspired two television anime series from Kyoto Animation in 2009 and 2010. It also received an anime film in 2011.

This year's Animelo Summer Live event was held from August 30 to September 1 at the Saitama Super Arena. Dwango and Nippon Cultural Broadcasting have been holding the anime song event annually since 2005.

Source: Ongaku Natalie

discuss this in the forum (4 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

Interest homepage / archives