• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Shonen Jump's Undead Unluck Wins Tsugi ni Kuru Manga 2020 Awards

posted on by Lynzee Loveridge

The winners were announced for the sixth "Tsugi ni Kuru Manga Taishō" (up-and-coming manga awards) with the top prize going to Yoshifumi Tozuka's Undead Unluck. The Shonen Jump series is licensed by Viz Media and is available to read in both print and digital.

The story follows Fūko Izumo, otherwise known as woman cursed with "Unluck". Fūko brings misfortune to anyone who touches her and the scale is proportional to how long they had physical contact. She's saved by Andy, a man that cannot die ("Undead"). He hopes to figure out a way to use Fūko's misfortune to finally bring him death. The unlikely pair team up to complete missions given to them by the Book of Revelations, but if they or any of the other negators in their union fail, the book can punish humanity.

Tozuka commented on his win:

First place...! Thank you so much for your votes and support. I am now keenly aware that I was able to create a manga thanks to the support of many people. Rather than embarrassing myself after this fortuitous outcome, I think I'll continue with this "interesting" manuscript."

Tozuka launched the series on January 20 and Viz began publishing the series that same month.

Second place went to another Shueisha title, this time writer Rikito Nakamura and artist Yukiko Nozawa's comedy romance Kimi no koto ga Dai Dai Dai Dai Daisuki na 100-nin no Kanojo. The series is published on the Shonen Jump+ app but is not currently available in English. The series follows the perpetually broken-hearted Aijō who meets the God of Love after praying at a shrine. The god tells him he will meet 100 girls fated to fall in love with him but if his relationship with them fails, they'll die in a cruel twist of fate.

Sōichirō Yamamoto's Soredemo Ayumu wa Yosetekuru rounded out third place. The series is published in Kodansha's Weekly Shōnen Magazine and not currently available in English. The story follows two classmates and only members of the school's shogi club. The younger male classmate has a stone-cold expression but his female upperclassman enjoys goading him to confess and obsessing over the game.

The full top 20 list of winners is:

  1. Undead Unluck by Yoshifumi Tozuka (licensed by Viz Media)
  2. Kimi no koto ga Dai Dai Dai Dai Daisuki na 100-nin no Kanojo by Rikito Nakamura and Yukiko Nozawa
  3. Soredemo Ayumu wa Yosetekuru by Sōichirō Yamamoto
  4. Akuyaku Reijō Tensei Oji-san by Michirō Ueyama
  5. Bukiyō na Senpai. by Makoto Kudo
  6. Agravity Boys by Atsushi Nakamura (licensed by Viz Media)
  7. Call of the Night (Yofukashi no Uta) by Kotoyama (licensed by Viz Media)
  8. Koe ga Dasenai Shōjo wa "Kanojo ga Yasashisugiru" to Omotte Iru by Ichi Yamura
  9. Saikin Yatotta Maid ga Ayashii by Wakame Konbu
  10. Tadano Kōgyō Kōkō no Nichijō by Chisato Oga
  11. Mashle: Magic and Muscles by Hajime Kōmoto (licensed by Viz Media)
  12. Ochikazuki ni Naritai Miyazen-san by Akitaka
  13. Mitama Security: Spirit Busters by Tsurun Hatomune (licensed by Viz Media)
  14. Kakkō no Iinazuke by Miki Yoshikawa
  15. Boku no Tsuma wa Kanjō ga nai by Jirō Sugiura
  16. Destroy all humankind. They can't be regenerated. by Katsura Ise and Takuma Yokota
  17. A Sign of Affection by Suu Morishita (licensed by Kodansha Comics)
  18. Whisper Me a Love Song by Eku Takeshima (licensed by Kodansha Comics)
  19. Kubo-san wa Boku (Mobu) wo Yurusanai by Nene Yukimori
  20. Dead Mount Death Play by Ryohgo Narita and Shinta Fujimoto (licensed by Square Enix Books)

The winners were decided by fan votes submitted by July 3. The award is co-organized by Kadokawa Media Factory's book and manga news magazine Da Vinci and streaming service Niconico. This year had 4,768 entries, more than twice as many as last year. 50 nominees were selected for each category.

In 2018, the winners were Raise wa Tanin ga Ii by Asuka Konishi and My Senpai Is Annoying by Shiro Manta. Last year's winners were Kusuriya no Hitorigoto (The Pharmacist's Monologue) in the print category and SPY x FAMILY in the web manga category.

Source: Comic Natalie

This article has a follow-up: Norio Sakurai's The Dangers in My Heart Wins Tsugi ni Kuru Web Manga 2020 Awards (2020-08-19 19:45)
discuss this in the forum (18 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

Interest homepage / archives