Strike Witches: Operation Victory Arrow Promo Video Previews Yoko Ishida's Song

posted on by Kyle Cardine
1st OVA debuts on September 20 at several theaters in Japan

Kadokawa began streaming a new promotional video for "St. Trond no Raimei" (Saint Trond's Thunder), the first episode of the new Strike Witches: Operation Victory Arrow anime project. The video features the opening song "Connect Link" by singer Yoko Ishida.

Text: The first of three short stories in the hugely popular anime series!!
Text: The twin witches will soar through the sky
Spoken/Text: Opens September 20
Text: A record of each battle of the magical girls
Spoken/Text: Even stronger, even faster

The OVA's official website announced the cast and staff on June 6.

The cast includes:

  • Misato Fukuen as Yoshika Miyafuji
  • Saori Seto as Mio Sakamoto
  • Kaori Nazuka as Lynette Bishop
  • Miyuki Sawashiro as Perrine-H. Clostermann
  • Rie Tanaka as Minna-Dietlinde Wilcke
  • Mie Sonozaki as Gertrud Barkhorn
  • Sakura Nogawa as Erica Hartmann
  • Chiwa Saito as Francesca Lucchini
  • Ami Koshimizu as Charlotte E Yeager
  • Mai Kadowaki as Sanya V. Litvyak
  • Ayuru Ōhashi as Eila Ilmatar Juutilainen

The project will reunite the staff and cast from the Strike Witches anime series. The staff includes:

  • Series Planning: Takeshi Yasuda
  • Director: Kazuhiro Takamura
  • Military History Advisor, World Setting: Takaaki Suzuki
  • Mechanical Design, Chief Mecha Animation Director: Hiroyuki Terao
  • Animation: Silver Link
  • Production: 501st Joint Fighter Wing

The episode will be the first of three 30-minute short stories that depict the lives of the members who returned to their respective homes after the end of Operation Mars in the second television series. The story is set before the 2012 Strike Witches movie.

The Strike Witches anime adapts Humikane Shimada's mecha-girl illustrations. The first season of the anime aired in 2008, while the second season aired in 2010. Crunchyroll streamed the second anime season as it aired in Japan, and Funimation released the first two seasons on DVD. In addition to the 2012 anime film, a third television anime series was announced last year.

discuss this in the forum (8 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives