• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Contest Extended Until MIDNIGHT Nov 1! • Your guys' entries are the pick of the patch, so we're adding an additional 48 hours to get your pumpkins in! read more

Akiko Higashimura's Kakukaku Shikajika Wins 8th Manga Taisho Award

posted on by Egan Loo
Princess Jellyfish creator's semi-autobiography of aspiring manga artist in high school

Manga creator Akiko Higashimura (Princess Jellyfish) received this year's Manga Taisho for her Kakukaku Shikajika (Such-and-Such) series. The semi-autobiographical series tells the story of Akiko Hayashi, a third-year high school girl who wants to be a manga artist.

Higashimura began the series in the debut issue of Cocohana, the relaunch of Shueisha's women's magazine Chorus, in November 2011. She ended the manga in January, and Shueisha is shipping the fifth and final compiled volume on Wednesday.

Unlike many other manga prizes which are chosen by the editors of the manga publishers themselves, the Manga Taisho nominating committee is mostly composed of the bookstore staffers who are in charge of their respective stores' manga sections. (The official English name of the awards is the "Cartoon Grand Prize.") The awards are also limited to works published last year with eight or less volumes to promote relatively newer works. The committee nominated 14 works this year.

Last year, Kaoru Mori's A Bride's Story won the award. Hiromu Arakawa's Silver Spoon, Shinichi Ishizuka's Gaku - Minna no Yama, Yuki Suetsugu's Chihayafuru, Mari Yamazaki's Thermae Romae, Chika Umino's March comes in like a lion, and Akimi Yoshida's Umimachi Diary won the first six Manga Taisho in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013, respectively.

Manga Taisho 2015 Final Results

Kakukaku Shikajika (Such-and-Such)
Akiko Higashimura
80 points
Kodomo wa Wakatte Agenai (Children Wouldn't Understand)
Rettou Tajima
66 points
Koe no Katachi (A Silent Voice)
Yoshitoki Ōima
65 points
Boku dake ga Inai Machi (The Town Where Only I Am Missing)
Kei Sanbe
57 points
Blue Giant
Shinichi Ishizuka
49 points
Ballroom e Yōkoso (Sweep Over the Dance Floor or literally, Welcome to the Ballroom)
Tomo Takeuchi
40 points
Shin'ichi Sakamoto
38 points
Boku no Hero Academia (My Hero Academia)
Kouhei Horikoshi
36 points
Ousamatachi no Viking (Kings' Viking)
Sadayasu, Makoto Fukami
35 points

Daruma Matsuura
30 points
Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun (Monthly Girls' Nozaki-kun)
Izumi Tsubaki
28 points
Mahou Tsukai no Yome (The Ancient Magus' Bride)
Kore Yamazaki
28 points
Hōseki no Kuni (Kingdom of Gems)
Haruko Ichikawa
18 points
Dimitri Tomkins
Fumiko Takano
8 points

Source: Comic Natalie

Update: Final results and Higashimura's illustration celebrating the win added:

bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives