Zelda, Sonic the Hedgehog, Space Invaders Make 2016 Video Game Hall of Fame

posted on by Rafael Antonio Pineda
Grand Theft Auto III, The Oregon Trail, The Sims also inducted on Thursday

The Strong, the self-described "national museum of play" in Rochester, New York, announced the 2016 inductees to its Video Game Hall of Fame on Thursday. The inductees include The Legend of Zelda (1986), Sonic the Hedgehog (1991), Space Invaders (1978), Grand Theft Auto III (2001), The Oregon Trail (1971), and The Sims (2000).

The larger field of 15 finalists also included Elite (1984), Final Fantasy (1987), Minecraft (2011), John Madden Football (1988), Nürburgring (1975), Pokémon Red and Green (1996), Sid Meier's Civilization (1991), Street Fighter II (1991), and Tomb Raider (1996).

The inaugural class of games that entered the Hall of Fame last year included: Pong (1972), Pac-Man (1980), Tetris (1984), Super Mario Bros. (1985), Doom (1993), and World of Warcraft (2004).

The museum describes the selection process:

Anyone may nominate a game to the World Video Game Hall of Fame. Nominations for the class of 2016 will be accepted through March 31, 2016. Final selections will be made on the advice of journalists, scholars, and other individuals familiar with the history of video games and their role in society.

The museum's International Center for the History of Electronic Games is hosting a permanent display of the Hall of Fame honorees in its eGameRevolution exhibit. The museum also houses the Brian Sutton-Smith Library and Archives of Play, the National Toy Hall of Fame, the Woodbury School, and the American Journal of Play.

[Via New York Upstate]

discuss this in the forum (10 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives