Zelda, Final Fantasy, Sonic, Pokémon, Space Invaders Nominated for Video Game Hall of Fame

posted on by Rafael Antonio Pineda
The Strong Museum will announce new selections on May 5

The Strong, the self-described "national museum of play" in Rochester, New York, announced the finalists for its 2016 World Video Game Hall of Fame on March 29. The games include: Elite (1984), Final Fantasy (1987), Minecraft (2011), Grand Theft Auto III (2001), John Madden Football (1988), The Legend of Zelda (1986), Nürburgring (1975), The Oregon Trail (1971), Pokémon Red and Green (1996), Sid Meier's Civilization (1991), The Sims (2000), Sonic the Hedgehog (1991), Space Invaders (1978), Street Fighter II (1991), and Tomb Raider (1996).

The museum will announce the new selections, chosen from these finalists, at a special ceremony on May 5.

The inaugural class of games that entered the Hall of Fame last year included: Pong (1972), Pac-Man (1980), Tetris (1984), Super Mario Bros. (1985), Doom (1993), and World of Warcraft (2004).

The museum describes the selection process:

Anyone may nominate a game to the World Video Game Hall of Fame. Nominations for the class of 2016 will be accepted through March 31, 2016. Final selections will be made on the advice of journalists, scholars, and other individuals familiar with the history of video games and their role in society.

The museum's International Center for the History of Electronic Games is hosting a permanent display of the Hall of Fame honorees in its eGameRevolution exhibit. The museum also houses the Brian Sutton-Smith Library and Archives of Play, the National Toy Hall of Fame, the Woodbury School, and the American Journal of Play.

Source: Gamasutra (Christian Nutt)

Update: Minecraft added to finalists. Thanks, Gis4Gamer

discuss this in the forum (17 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives