• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Naoki Urasawa Wins Special Award, Mystery Award at France's Angoulême

posted on by Karen Ressler
Festival held exhibit of Urasawa's work

45th Angoulême International Comics Festival awarded manga creator Naoki Urasawa (20th Century Boys, Monster, Pluto) with the Fauve Special Award and the Fauve Polar SNCF Special Award for mystery works. Japan's French embassy posted a video of Urasawa receiving the latter award on Twitter.

The festival held an exhibit of Urasawa's work, and the exhibit will continue from February 13 to March 31 at Paris Rendez-Vous at the Hôtel de Ville in Paris.

Urasawa previously received Angoulême's grand prize for long-form work award for 20th Century Boys in 2004 and an Intergenerational Award for Pluto in 2011.

This year's festival also held exhibitions for Osamu Tezuka and Hiro Mashima (Fairy Tail, Rave Master). Mashima was also awarded with the Fauve Special Award.

This year's nominees for Best Comic included Yarō Abe's Shinya Shokudō (The Midnight Diner, La Cantine de Minuit), Nagabe's The Girl from the Other Side: Siúil, a Rún (L'Enfant et le Maudit: Siúil, a Rún), and Keigo Shinzō's Tokyo Alien Bros. manga. The first volume of Makoto Isshiki's Hanada Shōnen-shi (Hanada le Garnement) manga was also nominated for Angoulême's Best Youth Comic. The first volume of horror manga creator Kazuo Umezu's Watashi wa Shingo (Je Suis Shingo; My Name Is Shingo) received the Best Heritage Comic award.

This year's Angoulême Festival ran from January 25-28. Last year's winners include Kazuo Kamimura's Rikon Club manga and the fourth volume of Minetarō Mochizuki's Chiisakobee manga.

The festival launched in 1974 as an event celebrating comics from countries throughout the world.

Source: Comic Natalie

bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives