Pioneer Anime Music Offers Hit Sounds From Popular Anime Artists

Two Of Japan's Premiere Talents, Yuki Kajiura And Yoko Ishida, Highlight Slate Of Anime Soundtracks Debuting This Summer

Edgy Sounds From Hellsing, Patlabor, Chobits, Lain, Haibane-Renmei, Heat Guy J And Mahoromatic, Also Arrive On CD

LONG BEACH, Calif. – The hot, hip and energetic sounds of today's most popular anime flicks are arriving on CD from Pioneer Anime Music. At the forefront of introducing Japanese animation to North American audiences, Pioneer will release nine soundtracks, seven from hugely popular anime television series and films. Titles arriving on July 1, 2003 include Hellsing, Patlabor, Chobits and Lain, plus compilations from two of Japan's rising pop artist. Soundtracks for Haibane-Renmei, Heat Guy J and Mahoromatic debut on August 5. The company plans to release nearly three-dozen titles in several waves through the remainder of the year.

Popular Japanese artist Yuki Kajiura highlights Pioneer's slate of soundtracks debuting July 1, with the CD release of Fiction. For the first time, English-speaking artists will sing all 11 tracks, composed by Kajiura. Kajiura, who created the music to the smash hit anime series "Noir" and ".hack//SIGN,” is currently recording Fiction in New York and the album will be released in the United States prior to its release date in Japan, representing a first in anime music.

Pioneer also will release music from another widely known Japanese artist, the singing diva Yoko Ishida. All the rage among anime fans for her incredible performances in her mega-popular dance-craze Para-Para CD series, Ishida's Sweets features 11-all new tracks, including songs from the hit anime series “Ai Yori Aoshi,” “Tiny Fairy Sugar” and “Pretear.” A bonus English track, the theme from Sugar (Sugar Baby Love") will only be available on this U.S. Release.

Each anime soundtrack contains new and unique packaging, English translations of lyrics, and phonetic translations of lyrics for karaoke.

In addition, the following soundtracks also make their domestic debut:

Chobits Original Soundtrack 001 – Following the highly awaited Chobits anime series, comes the equally popular and heavily anticipated Chobits Original Soundtrack 001. From the superstar artist group CLAMP (CardCaptor Sakura, Rayearth, X), Chobits Original Soundtrack 001 features 12 tracks, including the memorable, bouncy opening song, "Let Me Be With You" by Nino Tanaka.

Hellsing – Raid, Vol. 1 – From composer Kenji Kawai, widely recognized for his music in live-action films such as Ringu, Hellsing – Raid embodies the gritty, gothic atmosphere of the hit anime series and delivers 19 tracks of the coolest, high-gear frenzy garage band sounds and edgy instrumental cuts ever heard on an anime CD.

Lain – As seen on TechTV, “Serial Experiments Lain” is one of the most popular, stylishly intriguing and thought-provoking anime series ever seen. Delve deeper into the sounds of Lain's Wired world with the release of the domestic Lain CD soundtrack. Featuring eclectic, haunting instrumentals with an underscoring of techno, this soundtrack features music by artist Nakaido "Chabo" Reichi.

Patlabor WXII – From renowned composer Kawai, comes his latest, haunting instrumental work, Patlabor WXIII the Movie Soundtrack. Moody, evocative, frantic and fantastic, this special soundtrack contains 16 of Kawai's masterful instrumental renderings that enriched the atmosphere of the critically acclaimed Patlabor WXIII the Movie.

Haibane-Renmei – The thoughtful, ethereal melodies from the fan-popular Haibane-Renmei anime series features 19 tracks, including the outstanding English language songs "Wondering" and "Love Will Light the Way." The latest anime release from the creators of Serial Experiments Lain, the soundtrack comes packaged with a booklet featuring English & phonetic song lyrics and an interview with composer Yuki Otani and a vocalist profile.

Heat Guy J Original Soundtrack – With 20 tracks of instrumental and vocals, is an eclectic mix of cool jazz, rave and other alternative music genres, the Heat Guy J Original Soundtrack makes a memorable impression. Packaged with a booklet featuring English & phonetic song lyrics, the CD also includes a translated interview with the "Tryforce" band members!

Mahoromatic - Automatic Maiden Original Soundtrack – From the hit anime series Mahoromatic, this soundtrack features 27 tracks, as well as five bonus tracks, including both the vocal and karaoke versions of the opening song, "On the Way Home" and the catchy closing song "Mahoro de mambo" translated into English. The latest anime release from Gainax, Mahoromatic - Automatic Maiden Original Soundtrack features comments from music composer Toshiro Masuda.

Pioneer Entertainment (USA) Inc. ( is a full-service producer and distributor of entertainment software including film, music, animation and television shows on VHS and DVD. Its parent company, Pioneer Corporation, is a leader in optical disc technology and a preeminent manufacturer of high-performance audio, video, computer and cable television equipment for the home, car and business markets. Pioneer Corporation focuses on four core business domains including DVD, display technologies, Digital Network Entertainment and components. Founded in 1938 in Tokyo, Pioneer Corporation and its affiliates employ more than 34,000 people worldwide. Its shares are traded on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: PIO).

bookmark/share with:

Press Release homepage / archives