Anime Spotlight - Coppelion

by Justin Sevakis,

October, 2013

Key Staff

Series Director: Susumu Kudo
    (Mardock Scramble)
Chief Animation Director: Makoto Furuta
    (K, Seitokai Yakuindomo)
Mechanical Design: Hiroshi Okubo
    (Mardock Scramble, K)
Animation Production


We won't give up on this world.


Based on an SF story by Tomonori Inoue, set in the near future.

It's 20XX AD. The former capital city has been completely transformed. Sometime in the past, there was a catastrophe affecting 90% of the residents. Several decades later, three young girls enter the former capital. At first glance, they appear to be normal high school girls, wearing high school uniforms, but that fact in itself is extremely strange. What kind of humans could survive without protective suits in the contaminated city? These girls are bioengineered humans, equipped with an internal resistance to contamination. Attached to the Third Division Special Forces of the Ground Self-Defense Force, their duty is to rescue people still trapped in the contaminated city.

Now, against the backdrop of the former capital city, the tale of the fate of these three girls begins to play out…

(1) Children with a strong resistance, created as a result of genetic engineering.
(2) The name of the Third Division Special Forces of the Ground Self-Defense Force, under which these children are organized.


Ibara Naruse
VA: Haruka Tomatsu
Aoi Fukasaku
VA: Kana Hanazawa
Taeko Nomura
VA: Satomi Akesaka
Haruto Kurosawa
VA: Kenichi Suzumura
Kanon Ozu
VA: Yui Horie
Shion Ozu
VA: Maaya Sakamoto


Ibara Naruse
Haruka Tomatsu
Aoi Fukasaku
Kana Hanazawa
Taeko Nomura
Satomi Akesaka
Haruto Kurosawa
Kenichi Suzumura
Kanon Ozu
Yui Horie
Shion Ozu
Maaya Sakamoto
Onihei Mishima
Rikiya Koyama
Tomohiro Sato
Oyakata Kurobe
Koutaro Nakamura
Gennai Ishikawa
Hiroshi Naka
Itsujiro Kajii
Masahiko Tanaka
Ibuki Kajii
Mamiko Noto


Original Creator
Tomonori Inoue
Kodansha Monthly Young Magazine Publishing
Character Design
Shingo Suzuki
Series Composition
Makoto Nakamura
Series Director
Susumu Kudo
Hiromitsu Kanazawa
Chief Animation Director
Makoto Furuta
Mechanical Design
Hiroshi Okubo
Art Director
Masanobu Nomura
Takahiro Matsuura
Color Design
Sakura Komatsu
Tomoko Saito
Director of Photography
Tsunetaka Ema
Toru Fukushi
Saori Tadokoro
Sound Director
Hideo Takahashi
Sound Effects
Mitsuru Kageyama
(Fizz Sound Creation)
Sound Production
Dream Force
Mikio Endo
Music Production
Starchild Records
Animation Production
Coppelion Production Committee
Opening Theme
“Angel” by Angela
Ending Theme
“Tooku made” by Angela

discuss this in the forum (198 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

back to Anime Spotlight Fall 2013 - The List
Anime Spotlight homepage / archives