No Attack on Titan Pieces in Anime Symphonia Concert

posted on by Eric Stimson
Section withdrawn after rights SNAFU

Earlier, we reported on Anime Symphonia, a concert scheduled for July 20 by the Japan Screen Music Symphony Orchestra incorporating music from popular anime — Neon Genesis Evangelion, Puella Magi Madoka Magica, and above all, Attack on Titan, which was represented by 14 pieces in total.

Unfortunately, there's been a sudden program change. The orchestra announced that it is dropping Attack on Titan from the program and replacing it with Madoka Magica. (The concert is split into afternoon and evening sections, with the afternoon section originally scheduled to focus on Evangelion and the evening section originally scheduled to focus on Madoka Magica. Now, both sections will begin with Evangelion and end with Madoka Magica.)

In a statement on its website, the orchestra explained that although it had received permission to perform Attack on Titan pieces from JASRAC (the Japan Society for Rights of Authors, Composers and Publishers) and the composer, Hiroyuki Sawano, the copyright holding company claimed the performance was an infringement. Negotiations continued until July 15, when the orchestra decided to withdraw the section rather than risk further difficulties. The statement was posted on July 17.

As if this wasn't enough, the orchestra has also made it clear that program changes do not fall under its refund policy.

[Via Yaraon!; Image from Anime Symphonia]

discuss this in the forum (16 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

Interest homepage / archives