• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Mitsuharu Yanamoto's Hibiki: Shōsetsuka ni Naru Hōhō Wins 10th Manga Taisho Awards

posted on by Karen Ressler
Manga about high school novelist tops 12 other nominations

The executive committee for the 10th Manga Taisho awards announced during the awards ceremony on Tuesday that Mitsuharu Yanamoto's Hibiki: Shōsetsuka ni Naru Hōhō (Hibiki ~How to Become a Novelist~) manga won this year's award.

In the story, a handwritten novel manuscript is sent into a rookie contest, but it doesn't meet the conditions and is thrown in the trash. Still, an editor named Hanai picks it up by chance and believes it is a revolutionary novel. The author's name is Hibiki Akui, but there is no contact address on the submission. Meanwhile, Hibiki – a 15-year-old student – joins her school's literary club, not knowing that Hanai is trying to track her down.

Yanamoto began the manga in Shogakukan's Big Comic Superior magazine in August 2014. Shogakukan released the fifth compiled volume in December, and will release the sixth volume on April 12.

Previous winners of the Manga Taisho award include:

Unlike many other manga prizes which are chosen by the editors of the manga publishers themselves, the Manga Taisho nominating committee is mostly composed of the bookstore staffers who are in charge of their respective stores' manga sections. (The official English name of the awards is the "Cartoon Grand Prize.") The awards are also limited to works published last year with eight or fewer volumes to promote relatively newer works. The committee nominated 13 works this year.

Manga Taisho 2017 Final Results

Hibiki: Shōsetsuka ni Naru Hōhō
Mitsuharu Yanamoto
67 Points
Kin no Kuni Mizu no Kuni
Nao Iwamoto
64 Points
Dungeon Meshi (Delicious in Dungeon)
Ryōko Kui
63 points
Yūgo Kobayashi, Naohiko Ueno
60 points
Nami yo Kiite Kure (Wave, Listen to Me!.)
Hiroaki Samura
48 points
Yakusoku no Neverland (The Promised Neverland)
Kaiu Shirai, Posuka Demizu
43 points
Golden Gold
Seita Horio
42 points
Fire Punch
Tatsuki Fujimoto
37 points
Hi Score Girl
Rensuke Oshikiri
33 points
Karakai Jōzu no Takagi-san
Sōichirō Yamamoto
30 points
Watashi no Shōnen
Hitomi Takano
20 points
Tokyo Tarareba Musume
Akiko Higashimura
18 points
Kūtei Dragons
Taku Kuwabara
9 points

bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives