Hinomaru Sumo Anime Reveals New Cast, Theme Song Artists

posted on by Rafael Antonio Pineda
Daisuke Ono joins cast; Lead, Yamada Yoshida perform new songs

The combined fourth and fifth 2019 issue of Shueisha's Weekly Shonen Jump magazine revealed a new cast member and the new theme song artists for television anime of Kawada's Hinomaru Sumo (Hinomaru Zumō) manga on Saturday. Daisuke Ono will join the cast as Masato Hyōdō.

Lead will perform the new opening song "Be the Naked." Yamada Yoshida will perform the new ending song "Sakura Sake" (Cherry Blossoms, Bloom).

The anime premiered in Japan on October 5. Funimation and Crunchyroll are streaming the series as it airs. The series will have 24 episodes.

Kōnosuke Uda (One Piece, DAYS) is serving as chief director and Yasutaka Yamamoto (Hero Bank, Actually, I Am…) is directing at GONZO. Kii Tanaka (Cheating Craft, Hundred) is designing the characters. NAS is producing. HIGE DANdism are performing the current opening theme song "FIRE GROUND," and Omedetai Atama de Nani Yori are performing the current ending theme song "Hiizuru Basho."

Kawada launched the manga in Weekly Shonen Jump in May 2014. Shueisha published the 23rd volume on December 4. The story centers on the "small" new student Ushio Hinomaru, who joins the weak sumo club of Oodachi High School.

Image via Comic Natalie

Source: Weekly Shonen Jump combined issue 4/5

bookmark/share with:

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives